Nox-Crete GCP Applied Technologies ACT JVI, Inc. Cresset Chemical UltraSpan CME Max USA Corp Euclid Splice Sleeve
The Putman Family YWCA
Hamilton, ON

New community neighbour combines energy efficiency and affordable housing

By Deborah Byrne 


The Putman Family YWCA Passive House is a 50-unit multi-family social housing residence which provides transformative services in many areas, including housing options for women-led families providing one to three-bedroom rental apartments.

Photo: courtesy of Kearns Mancini Architects Inc., taken by Tom Ridout, Industryous Photography

The building consists of a one-storey plus basement community programming podium, and a five-storey residential component. The design also includes multiple outdoor amenity spaces that vary in privacy and program.

The elegant design re-introduces the YWCA to the artistic Crown Point neighbourhood, replacing a previous YWCA Hamilton Swimming Pool. The architectural intent of the project was to fit with the surrounding neighbourhood context, be reflective of Hamilton as a Steel Town, use local manufacturers where possible, and incorporate heritage pieces from the original building.

As a non-combustible building, the project needed to be concrete – wood was not an option due to costs and scheduling. We presented the Passive House (PH) concept to the YWCA early in the design process as a means to future proof its investment, and to provide the best possible interior living conditions for the tenants. Massively insulated and highly airtight for very high energy efficiency, Passive House also offers health and comfort, and climate and pandemic resiliency.

Photo: Simon Tingle, Craft Architecture Photography

We had previously developed a concept design of a precast concrete Passive House wall system. Coreslab Structures, a local precast concrete supplier, developed the concept further to satisfy the Passive House methodology such that the project became a Total Precast concrete building.

As the science-based Passive House Standard works on an envelope-first principal, the fact that we could deal with most of the Passive House requirements through a single, factory-made wall panel was comforting to the client and also to builders who may be unfamiliar with Passive House.

As designers who are conscious of embodied carbon, the precast concrete solution using factory-made components also offered a reduction in embodied carbon in comparison to cast- in-place concrete because of the reduced time, logistics, and trades that would ordinarily be needed for a concrete building built entirely on site.

Principles of Passive House

  1. Stale air exhaust on top level
  2. Energy recovery ventilator (ERV) with heat exchanger
  3. High performance window
  4. Solar heat gains through glazing
  5. Vertical supply and return air circulation
  6. Fresh air intake on top level
  7. Supply and extract air in each suite
  8. Thermal bridge free junction
  9. Continuous air tight layer and thermal insulation building envelope

 

Finding A Solution

We found that the precast concrete system was not always as flexible as a cast-in-place building and made coordinating mechanical services a little more complex. However, including Coreslab as part of the design team early on helped in finding solutions, such as eliminating the need for an expensive tower crane during construction.

Photo: Simon Tingle, Craft Architecture Photography

The need to air seal panel-to-panel and floor-to-floor joints, and the taping of anchors, slowed down the erection process, and prevented the client’s wish for an industrial interior aesthetic of exposed concrete.

In future projects it would be beneficial to consider some factory-installed tapes/overlaps to help speed up the erection/taping process needed for the PH envelope. This practice may be only partially successful given that the integrity of the taping could be compromised during shipping and craning on site.

Some of the largest precast concrete beams would only permit a minimum amount of insulation wrap around. The Passive House requires a complete insulation layer to prevent interior surface temperatures from being lower than 17 degrees C which can lead to discomfort, condensation or mould. Again, by working with Coreslab Structures we were able to get the minimum required insulation to maintain surface temperatures at the desired level.

The project redefines the way people think of energy efficient design within the context of providing affordable housing. By adhering to the International Passive House Standard, the building appeals to the YWCA’s core values of providing comfortable, healthy, resilient and safe housing for women.

Deborah Byrne COO is Director of Passive House Design at Kearns Mancini Architects Inc. 


Total Precast Concrete construction achieves Passive House performance

By Joshua A. Fede

Coreslab Structures provided a Total Precast Concrete solution for the YWCA project incorporating the insulation, moisture and air barrier, and structure into a single wall system (excluding windows and doors). This advantage removed most of the risk of achieving a superior thermal and airtight envelope which is a necessary requirement of Passive House.

Total Precast Concrete construction provides fast onsite installation, plant- controlled conditions for optimal execution, a reduction in the number of trades needed on site, and a faster construction schedule which provides cost savings to the owner. The building uses over 330 precast concrete components, including wall panels, beams, columns, and over 4,032 square metres (43,400 square feet) of precast hollowcore slabs.

Photo: Coreslab Structures 

Every aspect of the building design considered Passive House requirements including the materials used, orientation of the building and spaces, minimizing thermal bridging, and optimizing the mechanical systems. Further, aspects such as maximizing the south-facing windows to increase passive heating, reducing north-facing windows to decrease heat loss, optimizing the surface area to volume ratio, using high-performance triple-glazed windows, and the continuous insulation of the Total Precast Concrete structure ensured that the building would perform as intended.

Throughout the design and construction process, the energy performance of the building was assessed with the Passive House BIM and PHPP by Kearns Mancini Architects, and verified for certification by Peel Passive House Consulting to ensure that the building would achieve Passive House certification, which provides 90% thermal energy savings and reduced greenhouse gas emissions of nearly 40%.

Exterior finishes achieved in precast concrete consist of brick finish on the main level to mirror the neighbouring buildings; a smooth finish, with some textured elements, in off white dominating the east and south elevations; and a “corduroy” dark slate textured finish on the north and west elevations providing bold contrast. Some small pieces from the original structure, such as the original YWCA sign, dating back to 1924 were also incorporated on the main level.

Photo: Coreslab Structures 

PRECAST CONCRETE PRODUCTS

  • 3,457 square metres (37,216 square feet) of precast panels (243 pieces)
  • 18 precast beams
  • 16 precast columns
  • 400 square metres (4,310 square feet) of solid precast slabs (59 pieces)
  • 4,037 square metres (43,457 square feet) of 200, 250 and 300 millimetre thick (8 inch, 10 inch and 12 inch) precast hollowcore slabs
  • 26 precast stair units

Joshua A. Fede, MBA, LEED AP BD+C is Business Development Manager at Coreslab Structures.

Owner:
YWCA Hamilton
Architect:
Kearns Mancini Architects Inc.
Contractor:
Schilthuis Construction Inc.
Precast Supplier:
Coreslab Structures (ONT) Inc.
Structural Engineer:
RJC Engineers
© CPCI 2012. All rights reserved.

Nox-Crete GCP Applied Technologies ACT JVI, Inc. Cresset Chemical UltraSpan CME Max USA Corp Euclid Splice Sleeve
Le YWCA de la famille Putman
Hamilton, ON

Nouveaux logements sociaux à haut rendement énergétique /span>

Par Deborah Byrne 


Le YWCA de la famille Putman est un projet résidentiel de type « Maison passive » comportant 50 unités de logement social multifamilial qui offre des services de soutien dans plusieurs domaines, dont notamment des options de logements locatifs allant jusqu’à trois chambres à coucher pour des familles monoparentales menées par des femmes.

Photo: gracieuseté de Kearns Mancini Architects Inc., prise par Tom Ridout, Industryous Photography

Le bâtiment est composé d’un podium d’un étage avec sous-sol dédié aux services communautaires au-dessus duquel s’élèvent cinq étages d’unités résidentielles. Le concept comporte également plusieurs espaces aménagés extérieurs qui varient en termes de fonction et d’intimité.

Son design très élégant réintroduit le YWCA dans le quartier artistique de Crown Point, remplaçant l’ancien « YWCA Hamilton Swimming Pool » qui jadis occupait le même lieu. L’objectif architectural du projet comportait plusieurs volets : l’intégration visuelle dans le milieu environnant, être représentatif des origines de Hamilton comme « ville de l’acier », faire appel à des fabricants locaux lorsque possible et incorporer des pièces patrimoniales provenant du bâtiment original.

En tant que bâtiment non combustible, le projet se devait d’être en béton – le bois n’était pas une option viable à cause des coûts et de la planification. Nous avons présenté au YWCA le concept de Maison passive (MP) dès la phase préliminaire du design sachant qu’il offrirait une protection accrue des investissements à long terme tout en maximisant la qualité de vie intérieure des occupants. La Maison passive, avec ses critères d’isolation et d’étanchéité plus strictes, procure un environnement plus sain et confortable. Il résiste mieux aux intempéries et est plus adapté aux pandémies.

Photo: Simon Tingle, Craft Architecture Photography

Nous avions déjà par le passé développé un concept de Maison passive faisant appel à des murs de béton préfabriqué. Coreslab Structures, un fournisseur de béton préfabriqué local, poussa ce concept d’avantage pour qu’il puisse satisfaire à l’ensemble des exigences de la Maison passive. Résultat, le projet s’est transformé en un bâtiment fait entièrement de composantes de béton préfabriqué.

Sachant que la norme scientifique de la Maison passive repose principalement sur le principe de l’enveloppe, le client et les entrepreneurs qui n’étaient pas familiers avec cette technologie étaient réconfortés d’apprendre qu’un simple panneau de mur fabriqué en usine était intrinsèquement capable de répondre à la majorité des exigences de la MP.

En tant que concepteurs sensibles à l’importance de l’empreinte carbone des matériaux de construction, l’utilisation de composantes de béton préfabriqué présentait un net avantage par rapport à la construction conventionnelle de béton coulé sur place qui, dans son ensemble, requiert plus de temps, de logistique et de corps de métier.

Principes de la Maison passive

  1. Échappement de l’air vicié au niveau du toit
  2. Ventilateur récupérateur d’énergie (VRE) avec échangeur d’air
  3. Fenêtre à haute performance
  4. Gains de chaleur solaire grâce à la fenestration
  5. Système de circulation d’air vertical (entrée et retour)
  6. Bouche d’entrée d’air frais au niveau du toit
  7. Entrée d’air frais et extraction dans chaque unité
  8. Point de jonction exempt de pont thermique
  9. Enveloppe de bâtiment isolée continue étanche à l’air

 

Trouver une solution

Nous avons trouvé que le système de béton préfabriqué n’était pas toujours aussi flexible que le béton conventionnel et qu’il rendait parfois un peu plus complexe la coordination des services mécaniques. Toutefois, l’inclusion de Coreslab Structures au sein de notre équipe de design dès le début du projet nous a permis de solutionner bien des entraves dont, par exemple, n’ayant plus besoin de dépendre pendant la construction d’une coûteuse grue à tour.

Photo: Simon Tingle, Craft Architecture Photography

La nécessité de sceller l’ensemble des joints séparant les panneaux et les étages entre eux, et de protéger les ancrages à l’aide d’un ruban spécial, a ralenti l’érection de la structure. Elle a aussi rendu irréalisable les attentes du client qui voulait avoir une finition intérieure industrielle en béton.

Pour les projets à venir, il serait probablement avantageux que la pose des rubans de protection/systèmes de chevauchement puisse être faite en usine afin d’accélérer le processus d’érection, et ce tout en répondant aux exigences d’enveloppe de la MP. Toutefois, cette nouvelle approche pourrait ne pas fonctionner entièrement puisque l’intégrité des systèmes de protection pourrait être compromise lors du transport ou de la mise en place des panneaux au chantier.

L’isolation des plus grosses poutres de béton préfabriqué posa également un certain défi. Pour prévenir des températures de surface inférieures à 17 degrés C qui pourraient causer de l’inconfort, de la condensation et la formation de moisissure, la norme de la Maison passive requiert que les poutres soient entièrement isolées. De nouveau, Coreslab Structures nous a aidés à trouver la solution d’isolation optimale qui allait assurer le maintien de la température de surface des poutres à la valeur désirée.

Le projet redéfinit comment les personnes perçoivent les conceptions à haut rendement énergétique surtout dans le contexte des logements sociaux. En se conformant à la norme internationale de la Maison passive, le nouveau bâtiment reflète les valeurs fondamentales du YWCA, celles de pouvoir offrir aux femmes des logements qui sont à la fois confortables, sains, sécuritaires et durables.

Deborah Byrne COO est directrice de Passive House Design chez Kearns Mancini Architects Inc.


Une construction complète de béton préfabriqué atteint les critères de Maison passive

Par Joshua A. Fede

Coreslab Structures livra une solution composée entièrement de béton préfabriqué dans la réalisation du projet YWCA, laquelle comportait l’isolation, les pare-air et pare-vapeur, ainsi que tous les éléments structuraux, le tout incorporé dans un seul système mural (excluant les portes et fenêtres). Cette approche permit de supprimer la majorité des contraintes liées à la construction d’une enveloppe isolée et étanche de qualité supérieure qui est conforme aux exigences définies par la Maison passive.

Une construction faite entièrement avec des composantes de béton préfabriqué offre de nombreux avantages : un montage rapide sur le site de construction, une fabrication des éléments dans une usine aux conditions contrôlées qui assurent une exécution optimale, une réduction du nombre des corps de métier requis sur le site, et un échéancier de construction accéléré qui permet au propriétaire de réaliser des économies. Le bâtiment comprend plus de 330 composantes de béton préfabriqué : panneaux de mur, poutres, colonnes et plus de 4,032 mètres carrés (43,400 pieds carrés) de dalles alvéolées de béton préfabriqué.

Photo: Coreslab Structures 

Toute la conception du bâtiment a été fondée sur les exigences de la Maison passive, allant des matériaux utilisés, l’orientation du bâtiment et des espaces intérieurs jusqu’à l’optimisation des systèmes mécaniques et la réduction maximale des ponts thermiques. On s’est penché également sur la dimension des fenêtres faisant face au nord et au sud respectivement pour minimiser les pertes de chaleur et maximiser le chauffage passif, sur l’optimisation du rapport superficie/ volume du bâtiment, sur l’utilisant de fenêtres haute performance à vitrage triple, et sur l’isolation continue de toute la structure de béton préfabriqué pour s’assurer que le bâtiment une fois terminé performerait selon les attentes.

Tout au long des phases de conception et de construction, la performance énergétique du bâtiment a été examinée au moyen des logiciels Passive House BIM et Passive House Planning Package (PHPP) par le bureau Kearns Mancini Architects, puis vérifiée pour par la firme Peel Passive House Consulting, pour s’assurer que le bâtiment obtiendrait la certification de Maison passive. Cette certification procure des économies d’énergie thermique de plus de 90% et une réduction de presque 40% des gaz à effet de serre.

Les finitions extérieures incorporées dans le béton préfabriqué comprennent un fini à apparence de brique au premier niveau qui s’apparente à celui des bâtiments du quartier, un fini lisse de couleur blanc cassé comportant quelques éléments texturés sur les façades est et sud, et un fini texturé de couleur ardoise foncée ressemblant à du velours côtelé sur les façades nord et ouest qui procure un contraste audacieux. Quelques petites pièces provenant de l’ancienne structure, comme l’enseigne originale YWCA remontant à l’année 1924, ont également été incorporées au niveau principal du bâtiment.

Photo: Coreslab Structures 

ÉLÉMENTS DE BÉTON PRÉFABRIQUÉ

  • 3,457 mètres carrés (37,216 pieds carrés) de panneaux de béton préfabriqué (243 pièces)
  • 18 poutres de béton préfabriqué
  • 16 colonnes de béton préfabriqué
  • 400 mètres carrés (4,310 pieds carrés) de dalles pleines de béton préfabriqué (59 pièces)
  • 4,037 mètres carrés (43,457 pieds carrés) de dalles alvéolées de béton préfabriqué de 200, 250 et de 300 millimètres d’épaisseur (8 pouces, 10 pouces et 12 pouces)
  • 26 unités d’escalier de béton préfabriqué

Joshua A. Fede, MBA, LEED AP BD+ est directeur du développement des affaires chez Coreslab Structures.

Propriétaire:
YWCA Hamilton
Architecte:
Kearns Mancini Architects Inc.
Contracteur:
Schilthuis Construction Inc.
Béton Préfabriqué:
Coreslab Structures (ONT) Inc.
Ingénieur de Structure:
RJC Engineers
© CPCI 2012. All rights reserved.