Corning Museum of Glass – North Wing Expansion
Corning, NY

Designed by architect Thomas Phifer and Partners, the 100,000-square-foot North Wing addition includes a new 26,000-square-foot contemporary art gallery building, as well as one of the world’s largest facilities for glassblowing demonstrations and live glass design sessions. The addition will dramatically enhance the visitor experience for the Museum’s growing domestic and international audiences.

The design of the contemporary art gallery is a square, minimalist white glass building containing soaring, daylight-filled galleries. The facade is constructed with large, white glass panels that create a nearly seamless, softly reflective expanse. Inside, the gallery will feature a simple, white interior with massive curvilinear concrete walls. A special feature of the design is the custom precast concrete exposed ceiling beams. The beams add a level of simplistic elegance to the design of the building.

Béton Préfabriqué du Lac (BPDL) cast these beams vertically in order to get a perfect uniform finish on all three exposed sides. In total, BPDL produced 206 ceiling beams totalling 24,898 m2 of precast concrete. 

A sophisticated light-filtering system uses diffusing roof skylights combined with the precast concrete ceiling beams, providing the majority of the lighting required to view the art. The daylighting sets a new standard for how contemporary works in glass are displayed. A 150-foot-long window wall along the north side of the building will provide views of a new one-acre campus green, unifying the indoor and outdoor experience.

The building is part the museum’s expansion project and will serve as a hub for glass art enthusiasts for many years to come.

Owner:
Architect:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
Structural Engineer:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Corning Museum of Glass – Ajout de l’Aile Nord
Corning, NY

Conçu par l'architecte Thomas Phifer and Partners, l'ajout de 100 000 pieds carrés de l'aile nord comprend un nouveau bâtiment de la galerie d'art contemporain de 26 000 pieds carrés, ainsi que l'un des plus grands centres de soufflage de verre au monde. L'addition va considérablement améliorer l'expérience des visiteurs au musée qui a un public national et international grandissant.L

e design de la galerie d'art contemporain est un bâtiment carré, minimaliste muni de verre blanc qui offre une lumière naturelle incomparable. La façade est construite avec de grands panneaux de verre blanc qui créent une étendue presque sans joint. À l'intérieur, la galerie présentera un aménagement simple, blanc avec des murs massifs en béton curvilignes. Une particularité de la conception est les poutres de plafond exposées en béton préfabriqué fait sur mesure. Les poutres ajoutent un niveau d'élégance simpliste à la conception du bâtiment.

Béton Préfabriqué du Lac (BPDL) ont coulé ces poutres verticalement afin d'obtenir un fini uniforme parfait sur les trois côtés exposés. Au total, BPDL a produit 206 poutres totalisant 24 898 m2 de béton préfabriqué.

Un système filtrant la lumière sophistiquée utilise la diffusion du verre utilise sur le toît, combinées avec les poutres en béton préfabriqué, fournissant la majorité de l'éclairage nécessaire pour voir l’art exposé dans la gallerie. La lumière du jour offre une nouvelle façon dont les œuvres contemporaines en verre sont vues. Un mur de verre de 150 mètres de long sur le côté nord de l'édifice offrira une vue sur un nouveau campus d'un acre, unifiant l'expérience intérieure et extérieure.

Le bâtiment fait partie d’un projet d'agrandissement du musée et servira de centrale pour les amateurs d'art de verre pour de nombreuses années à venir.

Propriétaire:
Architecte:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
Ingénieur de Structure:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.