West LRT Development
Calgary, Calgary

The $1.4 billion West LRT project is the largest infrastructure project the City of Calgary has ever taken on. This integrated transportation system includes a new LRT line, reconfigured bus routes to accommodate the new stations, expanded and improved walking and biking trails, and an enhanced highway/road network. All of these improvements and new developments are connecting Calgarians traveling to and from the west end of the city to the rest of Calgary.

Calgary’s entire LRT system transports about 300,000 passengers each weekday, making it the most-traveled LRT system in North America and Lafarge is proud to have been involved in such a massive and crucial project. Lafarge provided more than 100,000 cubic meters of concrete, as well as all of the curbs and gutters for the project.

Precast concrete added to the unique architecture with horse shoe oval arches and station platforms with tactile strips in all of the stations as well as retaining walls with a stone finish on the 69 Street Station. Precast concrete girders and deck slabs were used on the 17th Ave/Sarcee interchange. All seven of Lafarge’s product lines were involved in the project and played an integral role in the construction and building of the structures and roads.

At a public ribbon-cutting opening celebration on Dec. 8, 2012, Alberta Premier Alison Redford said, “The West LRT line is a shining example of our government’s commitment to connecting residents with the people and services important to them, and to supporting municipalities as they plan for the future. Together, we are building better communities.”

Summary of Project:

  • 8.2 kilometers of track between downtown and 69 Street S.W.
  • Six new LRT stations - the first underground (Westbrook) and elevated (Sunalta) stations
  • Two major bus terminals, three park and ride lots with more than 1,200 parking stalls
  • Major roadway upgrades along the West LRT alignment
  • Improved and expanded pedestrian and cycling pathways
  • A totally revamped bus network in 21 communities

Photos By: Tucker Photography

Owner:
Architect:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
Structural Engineer:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Dévelopement du TLR Ouest
Calgary, Calgary

Le projet du TLR Ouest de 1,4 $ milliards est le plus grand projet d'infrastructure de l’histoire de la Ville de Calgary. Ce système de transport intégré comprend une nouvelle ligne de TLR, une réorganisation des trajets d’autobus pour déservire les nouvelles stations, une amélioration des pistes de marche et des pistes cyclables, et un réseau routier amélioré. Toutes ces améliorations et nouveautés participent à lié la population de l’Ouest de Calgary au reste de la ville.

Le réseau de TLR de Calgary transporte environ 300 000 passagers chaque jour de semaine, ce qui en fait le système de TLR plus utilisé en Amérique du Nord. Lafarge a fourni plus de 100 000 mètres cubes de béton pour le projet.

Le béton préfabriqué a ajouté une dimension architecturale unique avec les arches ovales en forme de fer à cheval et les plateforme avec des bandes tactiles dans toutes les stations ainsi que les murs de soutènement avec une finition en pierre sur la station de la rue 69. Des poutres et des dalles en béton préfabriqué ont été utilisés pour la construction de la station 17th Ave / Sarcee. Les sept lignes de produits de Lafarge ont été impliqués dans le projet et ont joué un rôle essentiel dans la construction des structures et des routes.

Lors de la cérémonie d’inauguration le 8 décembre 2012, le premier ministre de l'Alberta Alison Redford a dit: «La ligne Ouest du TLR est un brillant exemple de l'engagement de notre gouvernement à la connexion des citoyens et des services qui leurs sont importants. Ensemble, nous bâtissons des communautés plus prospères"

Sommaire du projet:

  • 8.2 kilomètres de rail entre le centre-ville et la rue 69 SW.
  • Six nouvelles stations TLR incluant la première souterraine (Westbrook) et une station surelevé (Sunalta)
  • Deux terminus d’autobus, trois stationnement totalisant plus de 1200 espaces pour les passagers du transport en commun
  • Rénovations majeures des rues le long du TLR Ouest
  • Amélioration des pistes cyclables et des pistes de marche
  • Un nouveau système d’autobus amélioré pour 21 communautées

Photos: Tucker Photography

Propriétaire:
Architecte:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
Ingénieur de Structure:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.