Ajax GO Station Parking Garage
Ajax, Ontario

The Ajax GO Station Parking Garage is located on Westney road in Ajax, Ontario. The parking superstructure has 6 levels and provides a total of 1,300 parking spaces for commuters. Construction began in July 2011 and was completed in August 2013.

The Ajax GO Transit parking garage used a variety of precast concrete products to deliver a resilient and durable structure. This project was able to combine a unique exterior design with strength for years to come. Armtec designed and supplied all the components, including double tees, beams, spandrels, columns, shear walls, column walls and exterior architectural wall panels.

The project included extensive improvements to the existing platform, permanent platform extensions as well as a new elevator, stairwell structure and connection to the pedestrian tunnel.

Both ends of the parking structure had (lateral support) shear walls 3-4 bays away from the end of the structure. This was designed to provide better sightlines at the vehicular turning areas at each end of the structure. With shear walls so far into the footprint of the structure, the precast columns had to be used as a temporary moment-frame lateral support during erection. The 7 level high precast columns would usually all be spliced at the same level but in this case those columns were vertically spliced at staggered floor levels. This staggered arrangement was necessary to provide moment-frame stability to the partially completed structure until the shear walls were installed. With this column-structure design, precast erection was completed in a safe, practical, more timely and economical manner.

The project also has eco-friendly features including high-efficiency LED lighting, daylight sensors, solar panels and a ‘white’ roof, designed to reflect the sun’s energy to reduce the city’s temperature.

The Ajax GO Transit parking garage won for best design of a parking facility with more than 800 spaces at the International Parking Institute’s (IPI) 2014 Awards of Excellence. 

Owner:
Metrolinx / GO Transit
Architect:
IBI Group
Engineer:
Read Jones Christoffersen (RJC)
Contractor:
Kenaidan Contracting
Precast Supplier:
Armtec-Precast Concrete Solutions, Central
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Le stationnement de la gare GO d’Ajax
Ajax, Ontario

Le stationnement de la gare GO d'Ajax est situé sur Westney Road à Ajax, en Ontario. La superstructure de stationnement dispose de 6 niveaux et fournit un total de 1300 places de stationnement pour les navetteurs. La construction a commencé en juillet 2011 et a été achevée en août 2013.

Pour le stationnement de la gare GO d'Ajax une variété de produits préfabriqués en béton a été utilisée pour offrir une structure résiliente et durable. Ce projet a été en mesure de combiner un design extérieur unique avec la durabilité pour les années à venir. Armtec a conçu et fourni tous les éléments, y compris les doubles tés, les poutres, les allèges, les colonnes, les murs de contreventement, les murs colonnes et les panneaux muraux architecturaux extérieurs

Le projet comprenait des améliorations importantes au quai existant, des extensions permanentes du quai  ainsi qu'un nouvel ascenseur, une structure de puits d'escalier et un raccordement au tunnel piétonnier.

Les deux extrémités de la structure du stationnement ont des murs de contreventement (servant de support latéral) qui sont situés à 3 ou 4  baies des extrémités de la structure. Cela a été conçu pour fournir de meilleurs champs de vision dans les zones de retournement des véhicules à chaque extrémité de la structure. Avec des murs de cisaillement si loin dans l'empreinte de la structure, les colonnes préfabriquées ont dû être utilisées comme supports latéraux temporaires pendant l'érection. Les colonnes préfabriquées hautes de 7 niveaux auraient toutes généralement dû être épissées au même niveau, mais dans ce cas, ces colonnes ont été épissées décalées verticalement au niveau du plancher. Cette disposition en quinconce était nécessaire pour assurer la stabilité du cadre pour la structure partiellement érigée jusqu'à ce que les murs de cisaillement aient été installés. Avec cette conception colonne-structure, l'érection du préfabriqué a été achevée d'une manière sécuritaire, pratique, plus rapide et plus économique.

Le projet a également des dispositifs écologiques, y compris l'éclairage D.E.L. à haute efficacité, des capteurs de lumière du jour, des panneaux solaires et un toit «blanc», conçu pour refléter l'énergie du soleil pour réduire la température de la ville.

Le stationnement étagé de GO Transit d’Ajax a remporté le Prix d'excellence 2014 de l'Institut international Parking (IPI) pour la meilleure conception d'un stationnement de plus de 800 places.

Propriétaire:
Metrolinx / GO Transit
Architecte:
IBI Group
Ingénieur:
Read Jones Christoffersen (RJC)
Contracteur:
Kenaidan Contracting
Béton Préfabriqué:
Armtec-Precast Concrete Solutions, Central
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.