Staybridge Suites and Holiday Inn Express
Niagara Falls, ON

Common amenity space brings efficiencies for dual hotel

By Darius Saplys

The Holiday Inn Express® and Staybridge Suites, built by Vrancor Hospitality Corp., is an iconic dual branded InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) product in Ontario's famous Niagara-on-the-Lake Winery Region. IHG has more than 5,300 hotels worldwide.

The two new hotels are situated within minutes of internationally renowned Niagara Falls, one of Canada’s most visited and photographed tourism destinations and The Niagara Wine Route. The region receives up to 12 million visitors each year.

The architectural design team, API Development Consultants Inc., specializes in planning and development design of hotels throughout Canada, offering a fully integrated project delivery and management services from concept to occupancy including site, building, landscape, interiors, and any necessary municipal and associated agency approvals. In this project, the client wanted a light and airy look that was sophisticated and eye-catching, and which would appeal to a wide variety of guests travelling for business or pleasure.

The 70-room Staybridge Suites differs from the 104-room Holiday Inn Express® by offering the choice of spacious studio or one-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens.  A shared amenity space at the base of the two hotels contains 148 square metres (1,600 square feet) which can be configured into five flexible meeting rooms, all with natural light, or as event space for up to 120 guests. The shared space also includes a light-filled, heated indoor pool, guest laundry facilities, and two Suite Shops offering 24-hour food and beverage choices for snacks, toiletries and drinks for purchase.

Darius Saplys is Associate and Operations Director with API Development Consultants Inc.

 

Total precast concrete construction

By Albert Meyer

The building is a total precast concrete project, including the basement walls, of two six-storey hotels joined by a common amenity area which includes a seven metre (23 feet) high pool area. In addition to providing the precast concrete elements, Stubbe’s Precast handled installation at the rate of 4-1/2 days per floor, representing an area of 883 square metres (9,500 square feet).

On this project, total precast concrete construction offered advantages which appealed to the owner: fast erection time, as noted above, since a single supplier provided the building structure and exterior architectural finishes with efficient on-site coordination; precast concrete components have inherent fire resistance and good STC ratings; the long 12 metre (40 feet) spans of the hollowcore slabs reduced the number of interior walls for interior design flexibility; and precast concrete offers resilience, low maintenance, and a variety of finishes using formliners.

The main precast concrete elements included:

  • 1,170 hollowcore floor slabs 300 millimetre [12 inches] thick with 12 metre (40 ft.) spans, representing 11,447 square metres (123,210 square feet),
  • 830 wall units representing 10,225 square metres (110,070 square feet). Walls are 200 millimetres (8 inches) thick for both exterior bearing walls and interior party walls, and 150 millimetres (6 inches) thick for exterior cladding panels. The largest wall at 13 metres x 3.2 metres, or 137 square metres (42.5 feet x 10.5 feet, or 450 square feet) weighs 10,523 kilograms (23,200 pounds), and
  • 12 columns, 18 cornices, and four beams, the largest being 8.5 metres x 1 metres and 15,665 kilograms (27-½ feet long x 3-1/3 feet deep; 34,537 pounds).

The precast concrete components were painted in the plant, and then the assembled building was painted again on site. 
 

 

Challenges met
The common amenity area at grade links the two hotels and proved to be the most difficult part of the project. Several different angles came together at this point which complicated construction, and large portions of the front and rear facades are glazed which required support by adjacent precast concrete panels, the hollowcore elements, or by structural steel. 

A steel structure in the amenity area supports the precast hollowcore roof system, however, in some locations, precast concrete walls support the steel structure. 

Tekla drawing models were shared between Stubbe’s Precast and the steel detailers to ensure that all elements were coordinated accurately. Stubbe’s Precast CAD files were incorporated to ensure that frost walls, footings and piers were located correctly.

The amenity area also required different panel thicknesses of 150, 254, and 560 millimetres [6, 10 and 22 inches], and numerous small intricate pieces were designed to provide the desired architectural effect. Several different colours and finishes were used; in some cases three or four colours on a single precast concrete panel. Interlocking wood and ‘San Diego’ formliners were used as accents.

Albert Meyer is Project Manager with Stubbe’s Precast, a precast concrete producer based in Harley, Ontario.

See more about this project in the Fall/Winter 2018 issue of Imagineering: 
http://www.cpci.ca/en/about_us/imagineering_magazine/

Owner:
Vrancor Group
Architect:
Saplys Architects
Engineer:
Millennium Engineering
Contractor:
Champlain Development
Precast Supplier:
Stubbe’s Precast
Structural Engineer:
MA Steelcon Engineering
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Ce contenu est actuellement uniquement disponnible en anglais
Staybridge Suites and Holiday Inn Express

Des espaces bien aménagés contribuent au bon rendement d’un hôtel à vocation double

par Darius Saplys

Les hôtels Holiday Inn Express et Staybridge Suites, construits par Vrancor Hospitality Corp, et faisant partie de la chaine InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG), sont des marques iconiques que l’on retrouve dans la fameuse région vitivinicole de Niagara-on-the-Lake en Ontario. IHG possède plus de 5,300 hôtels à travers le monde.

The two new hotels are situated within minutes of internationally renowned Niagara Falls, one of Canada’s most visited and photographed tourism destinations and The Niagara Wine Route. The region receives up to 12 million visitors each year.

Les deux hôtels sont situés à quelques minutes à peine des chutes du Niagara, une des destinations touristiques les plus visitées et photographiées au Canada, et de la route des vins du Niagara. Cette région reçoit chaque année plus de 12 millions de visiteurs.

L’équipe de conception architecturale, API Development Consultants Inc., se spécialise dans la planification et le développement de designs d’hôtels à travers le Canada. Ils offrent une gamme complète de services de gestion intégrée de projets, depuis la conception jusqu’à l’occupation. Ceux-ci comprennent la préparation des sites, la construction, l’aménagement paysager, le design intérieur, ainsi que l’obtention de toutes les approbations requises par les municipalités et agences connexes. Dans le cas de ce projet, le client était à la recherche d’un concept clair et spacieux, ayant une allure sophistiquée qui saurait plaire et captiver l’attention des clients voyageant soit par affaires ou par loisir.

Le bâtiment de 70 chambres de Staybridge Suites diffère de celui du Holiday Inn Express par le fait qu’il offre une gamme de studios spacieux et de suites à une chambre à coucher avec cuisine entièrement équipée. Au pied des deux hôtels on retrouve une aire commune de 148 mètres carrés (1,600 pieds carrés) pouvant être divisée en cinq salles de réunion à dimensions flexibles, toutes exposées à de la lumière naturelle, ou utilisée pour des événements spéciaux pouvant accueillir jusqu’à 120 invités. L’aire commune comprend également une piscine intérieure chauffée, une buanderie réservée aux clients, ainsi que deux petits commerces de dépannage ouverts 24 heures offrant boissons, nourriture et des articles de toilette.

Darius Saplys est un associé et directeur des opérations chez API developments Consultants Inc.

 

Une construction faite entièrement de béton préfabriqué

par Albert Meyer

Le bâtiment est un projet fait entièrement avec du béton préfabriqué, incluant les murs du sous-sol. Il comprend deux hôtels de six étages joints à la base par une aire commune qui comprend une piscine intérieure dont la hauteur du plafond est de sept mètres (23 pieds). En plus de fournir les éléments de béton préfabriqué, Stubbe’s Precast s’est également chargé de la construction de la charpente au rythme de 4-1/2 jours par étage, chaque étage ayant une superficie de 883 mètres carrés (9,500 pieds carrés).

Pour ce projet, l’option d’aller avec une structure faite entièrement de béton préfabriqué offrit des avantages qui répondaient bien aux attentes du client: une érection rapide puisque, comme cité plus haut, un seul fournisseur était en charge de la fabrication des éléments de charpente et des composantes de finition architecturales extérieures, le tout chapeauté par une supervision efficace en chantier; les composantes de béton préfabriqué ont une résistance inhérente au feu ainsi que de bons indices de transmission du son (ITS); les dalles ajourées de 12 mètres (40 pieds) de portée permirent de réduire le nombre de murs intérieurs et d’offrir ainsi un espace intérieur au design plus flexible; et le béton préfabriqué offre une excellente résistance, il requiert peu d’entretien et, grâce à des moules insérés à même les coffrages, peut avoir des finitions variées.

Les éléments principaux de béton préfabriqué comprennent:

  • 1,170 dalles de plancher ajourées ayant une épaisseur de 300 millimètre (12 pouces) et une portée de 12 mètres (40 pieds), totalisant une superficie de 11,447 mètres carrés (123,210 pieds carrés),
  • 830 unités de mur représentant une superficie 10,225 mètres carrés (110,070 pieds carrés). Les murs porteurs extérieurs et les cloisons intérieures ont une épaisseur de 200 millimètres (8 pouces).
  • Les panneaux de revêtement extérieurs ont quant à eux une épaisseur de 150 millimètres (6 pouces). Le mur le plus grand de 13 mètres par 3.2 mètres (42.5 pieds par 10.5 pieds), soit de 137 mètres carrés (450 pieds carrés) pèse 10,523 kilogrammes (23,200 livres), et
  • 12 colonnes, 18 corniches, et 4 poutres dont la plus grande est de 8.5 mètres par un mètre (27-½ pieds par 3-1/3), et ayant un poids total de 15,665 kilogrammes (34,537 livres).

Les composantes de béton préfabriqué ont d’abord été peintes en usine, puis le bâtiment une fois assemblé a de nouveau été peint au chantier.
 

 

Des dessins modèles produits à l’aide du logiciel Tekla ont été partagés tant à Stubbe’s Precast qu’aux détaillants d’acier afin d’assurer une coordination exacte de tous les éléments. Les fichiers CAO produits par Stubbe’s Precast furent incorporés afin de garantir l’emplacement précis des murs résistant au gel, des semelles de fondation et des piliers.

L’aire commune a aussi fait appel à des panneaux de mur d’épaisseurs variées de 150, 254 et 560 millimètres (6, 10 et 22 pouces), ainsi qu’à de nombreuses petites pièces complexes qui ont été conçues spécifiquement pour réaliser l’effet architectural recherché. Plusieurs couleurs et finitions différentes furent utilisées. Dans certains cas, de trois à quatre couleurs différentes sur un seul panneau de béton préfabriqué.

Albert Meyer est directeur de projet chez Stubbe’s Precast, un fabricant de béton préfabriqué situé à Harley, Ontario.

Propriétaire:
Vrancor Group
Architecte:
Saplys Architects
Ingénieur:
Millennium Engineering
Contracteur:
Champlain Development
Béton Préfabriqué:
Stubbe’s Precast
Ingénieur de Structure:
MA Steelcon Engineering
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.