Ruth Gardens - Building orientation and green space make mixed-use development public-friendly
Winnipeg, Manitoba

The Ruth Gardens project is a mixed project by Edison Properties, which has a rich history of providing living spaces in Winnipeg. On the site occupied by a former strip mall, the project has three residential 10-storey towers and commercial space located on the main floor of the building, and a separate single-storey Scotiabank to be located on the corner of Rothesay and Sharon Bay.

In total, the building comprises 1,860 square metres [20,000 square feet] of new commercial space separated into four units. Scotia Bank remained in operation for the duration of the construction schedule. The new Scotia Bank is a stand-alone building. Furthermore, there was consideration given to building a commercial restaurant unit at the north end of the main floor.

Above the commercial space, the residential component consists of 214 apartments ranging in size from 65 to 102 square metres [700 to 1,100 square feet] spread out over 10 storeys in three separate towers linked by a common podium. The total height of the building is 33 metres [110 feet]. Each of the first three storeys of residences includes amenity spaces for use by the ten- ants such as an exercise room and multi-purpose room complete with kitchen area.

Parking of 156 indoor parking stalls was broken out between one storey of underground parking containing 109 stalls, and 47 stalls on the main floor behind the commercial spaces. The rest will be surface parking divided between the east and west sides of the building.

The intent of the design as built was to be sensitive to the neighbourhood, which is why the building was broken into three towers rising from a four-storey base. The floor plate of each tower contains only seven units. The thin towers and the orientation of the towers on the site are intended to avoid the look of a massive building. The three individual towers keep the off-site shadows to a minimum while al- lowing the sun through on the east/west axis between the towers and along the south property line into the site.

We provided extensive landscaping on the site, a typical mature tree as shown around the perimeter of the building will grow up to 12 metres [40 feet]. These mature trees will eventually mask the four storey base of the building, again hiding the mass and exposing the thin towers, allowing them to appear as free standing behind the tree line.

Landscaping in very important to us and guided our decision to create a parkway between the Scotia bank and the apartment block along Sharon Bay. The parkway is a place where residents and visitors alike can have a sense of garden within what would be a heavy commercial area.

 

Building the towers
Crosier Kilgour and Partners Engineers designed the podium and did the load analysis of the entire structure, which Lafarge Precast used to design the 10-storey towers. The towers were designed using Tekla software, which can detail all kinds of structures, manage fabrication, plan erection and find potential problems early before fabrication. It integrates precast design and detailing with manufacturing and project management: the software interfaces with production management systems [ERP] and automation machinery. Tekla enhances communication between precaster and the contractor and coordinates precast concrete production with site operations through Tekla BIMsight.

The three towers were erected in 16 months; right on schedule despite losing two months because of weather. Lafarge Precast supplied all the precast concrete for this project. It consists of: 31,600 square metres [340,000 square feet] of hollowcore slabs, 183 balconies, 14,230 square metres [153,000 square feet] of solid wall panels, 35 transfer walls, 76 columns and 136 stairs and landings.

The creation of the greenbelt could only be accomplished by changing the south tower orientation to a north/south direction as opposed to the east/west orientation of the north and central towers. 

We see the commercial functions of the main floor and site being accessible to pedestrians and we felt that the park would encourage that pedestrian traffic into and through the site. Furthermore the frontage of all commercial space has an extensive overhang, again for the purposes of creating a comfortable environment to encourage pedestrian movement.

The entire development has been designed to be user friendly, whether by vehicle or foot, while providing the quality of living environments that the developer, Edi- son properties, has always maintained.

Christopher P. Daly, MAA, SAA, RAIC is a LEED Accredited Professional and a principal with MMP Architects in Winnipeg.

Owner:
Edison Properties
Architect:
MMP Architects
Engineer:
Crosier Kilgour and Partners
Precast Supplier:
Lafarge Precast
Construction Manager:
Akman Construction
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Les jardins Ruth - L'orientation du bâtiment et de l'espace vert rendent un développement à usage mixte accueillant pour le public
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Les jardins Ruth est un projet mixte réalisé par Edison Properties qui depuis longtemps procure des espaces de logement à Winnipeg. Situé sur un site jadis occupé par un ancien centre d'achat, le projet comprend trois tours résidentielles de 10 étages bâties au-dessus d'un centre commercial situé à l'étage principal du bâtiment, et une banque Scotia à un étage qui sera construite séparément au coin des rues Rothesay et Sharon Bay.

Au total, le bâtiment comprend 1,860 mètres carrés [20,000 pieds carrés] de nouvel espace commercial divisé en quatre unités. La banque Scotia est restée en opération durant toute la phase de construction du projet. La nouvelle banque Scotia est un bâtiment autonome. De plus, Il était question de construire également un restaurant commercial à l'extrémité nord de l'étage principal.

Au-dessus de l'espace commercial on retrouve la partie résidentielle qui contient un total de 214 apparte- ments de dimensions variant entre 65 et 102 mètres carrés [700 et 1,100 pieds carrés] distribués sur les 10 étages des trois tours individuelles lesquelles sont reliées par un podium commun. La hauteur totale du bâtiment est de 33 mètres [110 pieds].

Les trois premiers étages de chacune des tours comportent des espaces avec services réservés aux résidents tels qu'une salle d'exercice et une salle à usage multiple munie d'une cuisine.

Le stationnement intérieur comprend un total de 156 places: 109 places sont sur un étage souterrain et les 47 autres places se retrouvent à l'étage principal à l'arrière du centre commercial. Le reste sera du stationnement en surface qui sera partagé entre les côtés est et ouest du bâtiment.

L'intention du concept tel que construit était de démontrer une sensibilité envers le quartier environnant. C'est la raison pour laquelle le bâtiment a été divisé en trois tours distinctes érigées depuis une base commune de quatre étages. L'aire de plancher de chaque tour ne comprend que sept unités. La forme étroite des tours ainsi que leur disposition sur le site visent à éviter l'apparence d'un bâtiment massif. Les trois tours individuelles minimisent autant que possible l'ombrage au-delà du site et permettent à la lumière du soleil de passer entre celles-ci dans l'axe est-ouest ainsi que le long du côté sud de la propriété.

Nous nous sommes préoccupés beaucoup de l'aménagement paysager du site. Un arbre mature typique tel que montré sur le périmètre du bâtiment grandira pour atteindre une hauteur de 12 mètres [40 pieds]. Ces arbres matures masqueront éventuellement la totalité de la base de quatre étages du bâtiment. Cela permettra de cacher d'avantage la masse et de mettre en valeur les tours étroites, donnant l'impression qu'elles sont des bâtisses individuelles qui émergent derrière la tête des arbres.

L'aménagement paysager est très important pour nous. Cela nous a mené à concevoir une promenade entre la banque Scotia et le bloc d'appartements le long de la rue Sharon Bay. La promenade est un endroit où les résidents, comme les visiteurs, peuvent avoir une sensation de jardin au sein de ce qui serait un lourd secteur commercial.

 

La construction des tours

Crosier Kilgour and Partners Engineers ont réalisé la conception du podium et entrepris l'analyse des charges pour l'ensemble de la structure que Lafarge Precast a utilisé pour concevoir les tours de 10 étages. La conception des tours a été faite à l'aide du logiciel Tekla. Ce dernier est capable de produire les détails de tout type de structure, de gérer la fabrication, de planifier l'érection et d'identifier des problèmes potentiels bien avant l'étape de fabrication. Il intègre la conception et la préparation des détails des pièces préfabriquées avec la fabrication et la gestion de projet: le logiciel fait l'interface avec des systèmes de gestion de production [Enterprise Resource Planning ou ERP] et la machinerie automatisée. Tekla améliore la communication entre le manufacturier de béton préfabriqué et l'entrepreneur, et coordonne la production du béton préfabriqué avec les opérations du site via Tekla BIMsight.

Les trois tours ont été érigées en 16 mois, conformément à l'échéancier, malgré des retards de deux mois causés par les intempéries. Lafarge Precast a fourni les pièces de béton préfabriqué pour ce projet. Ceci comporte: 31,600 mètres carrés [340,000 pieds carrés] de dalles alvéolées, 183 balcons, 14,230 mètres carrés [153,000 pieds carrés] de panneaux de mur solide, 35 murs de transfert, 76 colonnes et 136 escaliers avec paliers.

La création d'une ceinture verte pouvait seulement être réalisée en changeant l'orientation de la tour sud dans une direction nord/sud contrairement à l'orientation est/ouest des tours nord et centrale.

Nous voulions que les aires commerciales de l'étage principal et du site soient accessibles par les piétons et nous pensions que la présence du parc encouragerait les piétons à pénétrer et passer à travers le site. De plus, les façades de tous les commerces possèdent de généreux surplombs avec l'intention encore une fois de créer un environnement confortable qui encourage d'avantage le déplacement à pied.

L'ensemble du projet a été conçu dans le but qu'il puisse être convivial, tant en voiture qu'à pied, tout en offrant un environnement de vie ayant la qualité que le promoteur, Edison Properties, a toujours livré.

Christopher P. Daly, MAA, SAA, RAIC possède une Accréditation professionnelle LEED et est un Directeur chez MMP Architects de Winnipeg

Propriétaire:
Edison Properties
Architecte:
MMP Architects
Ingénieur:
Crosier Kilgour and Partners
Béton Préfabriqué:
Lafarge Precast
Gestionnaire de Construction:
Akman Construction
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.