Pointe-Noire Multi-Use Wharf, Sept-Îles
Sept-Îles, Quebec

In 2008, The Port of Sept-Îles decided to build a new wharf for the cruise ships travelling along the St-Lawrence River. The Quai des Croisières allows large ships to dock directly at the Port of Sept-Îles, right downtown, enabling tourists to visit the region.

The cruise ship wharf, made up of a main dock and three mooring dolphins, is more than 310 metres long and can accommodate large cruise ships. The various elements are linked by metal gangways to the main dock, allowing different crews to dock the ships in complete safety.

The main dock is composed of precast concrete girders resting on tubular steel-driven piles with nodes that were cast in place. Precast slabs were placed on top of the girders after all the nodes were secured. At the end, another slab was cast in place on top of the previous slab to complete the dock. Béton Préfabriqué du Lac (BPDL) supplied all precast for this project which was shipped by barge to the construction site.

Two large crawler cranes (225T and 300T) on barges were used to allow piling and erection at sea. This project included 46,000 square metres of dragging to allow ships to berth at the new cruise ship wharf.

Pomerleau, the general contractor for this project, employed both boldness and resourcefulness in its preference to undertake the construction of the concrete structure of the main dock with the aid of precast concrete. This method of construction led to a cost reduction of more than 10%.

The project started in mid 2009 and on September 30, 2010, the dock was functional. Just in time to welcome its first cruise ship on October 4. With the help of precast concrete, the project was completed on October 30, 2010, two months earlier than the completion date set out in the initial contract.

Architect:
Engineer:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
Pomerleau
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Quai Multi-usagers de Pointe-Noire, Sept-Îles
Sept-Îles, Québec

En 2008, le Port de Sept-Îles a décidé de construire un nouveau quai pouvant accueillir les bateaux de croisière voyageant sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Le Quai des Croisières permet dorénavant à des navires allant jusqu'à une longueur de 315 m de s'amarrer au Port de Sept-Îles, directement au centre-ville, permettant ainsi aux touristes de visiter la région.

Le Quai des Croisières fait plus de 310 mètres de longueur et peut accueillir d'imposants navires de croisières. Les différents éléments sont reliés par des passerelles métalliques au quai principal, permettant ainsi aux différents équipages d'amarrer les navires en toute sécurité.

Le quai principal est composé de poutres en béton préfabriqué reposant sur des pieux enfoncés d'acier tubulaires avec des nœuds qui ont été coulés en place. Des dalles de béton préfabriqué ont été placées sur le dessus des poutres. A la fin, une autre dalle a été coulée en place sur le dessus de la dalle préfabriquée pour compléter le quai. Béton Préfabriqué du Lac (BPDL) a fourni l'ensemble des composantes de béton préfabriqué pour ce projet qui a été expédié par barge au site de construction.

2 grues de grande portée (225 t et 300 t) sur des barges ont été utilisées pour permettre la mise en œuvre des travaux à partir de celles-ci. Ce projet incluait aussi le dragage de 46 000 m3 de fond marin pour permettre aux navires d'accoster au nouveau Quai des Croisières.

Pomerleau, l'entrepreneur général pour ce projet, a dû utiliser audace et ingéniosité pour entreprendre la construction de la structure en béton du quai principal à l'aide de béton préfabriqué. Ce mode de construction a conduit a contribué à une réduction des coûts de plus de 10%.

Le projet a débuté à l’été 2009 et le 30 Septembre 2010, le quai était fonctionnel. Juste à temps pour accueillir son premier navire de croisière le 4 Octobre. Avec l'aide du béton préfabriqué, le projet a été achevé le 30 Octobre 2010, deux mois plus tôt que la date prévue d'achèvement du contrat initial.

Architecte:
Ingénieur:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
Pomerleau
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.