The Trillium
Halifax, Nova Scotia

The Trillium, named after a flower that is found in Halifax’s Public Gardens, was completed in early 2012. A 19-storey, 84 unit residential and commercial building, The Trillium brings new meaning to upscale urban living in Halifax. With beautiful views from all sides and a location within walking distance of any amenity, this building has brought new life to one of Halifax’s most popular areas.

The Trillium was designed and built by W.M. Fares. During the conceptual stage of the design, W.M. Fares turned to Roy Willwerth, one of Halifax’s most renowned architects (in association with DRKR Architects) and an avid supporter of the precast concrete industry, to help with the design of the building. This is part of the reason why The Trillium is a successful representation of using precast concrete in modern architecture.

W.M. Fares approached Strescon about using Architectural precast concrete panels as an exterior cladding on the upper floors. Strescon worked closely with the architects during the design phase to ensure that the most efficient design was achieved, without taking anything away from the appearance of the building. In the end, the precast blended perfectly with the glass and brick used on the rest of the building. In all, Strescon provided 152 solid architectural panels and 23 cornice panels.

The Trillium on South Park was the winner of the 2010 Nova Scotia Lieutenant Governor General’s Award for Engineering.

Owner:
W.M. Fares Group
Architect:
W.M. Fares Group
Engineer:
Malcolm Pinto Engineering
Precast Supplier:
Strescon Limited
Associate Architects:
Duffus Romans Kundzins Rounsefell Architects
Construction Manager:
W.M. Fares Group
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Le Trillium
Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Le Trillium, nommé d'après une fleur que l'on trouve dans les jardins publics de Halifax, a été achevée au début de l’année 2012. Un bâtiment résidentiel et commercial de 19 étages et de 84 unités, Le Trillium donne une nouvelle signification à la vie urbaine haut de gamme à Halifax. Avec de belles vues de tous les côtés et un emplacement à proximité de tous services, ce bâtiment a redonné vie à l'un des quartiers les plus populaires de Halifax.

Le Trillium a été conçu et construit par W.M. Fares. Au cours de la phase conceptuelle du bâtiment, W.M. Fares ont fait appel à Roy Willwerth, un des architectes les plus renommés de Halifax (en association avec DRKR Architects) qui a toujours ardemment appuyé l'industrie du béton préfabriqué, pour aider à la conception du bâtiment. Cela fait partie de la raison pour laquelle Le Trillium est un exemple clair de l'utilisation de béton préfabriqué dans l'architecture moderne.

W.M. Fares ont approché Strescon à propos de l'utilisation de panneaux en béton préfabriqué architectural comme revêtement extérieur sur les étages supérieurs. Strescon ont collaboré avec les architectes lors de la phase de conception pour s'assurer que le design le plus efficace a été obtenue, sans rien enlever à l'apparence du bâtiment. En fin, le béton préfabriqué se marie parfaitement avec le verre et la brique utilisée sur le reste de l'édifice. En tout, Strescon ont fourni 152 panneaux solides architecturaux et 23 panneaux corniche.

Le Trillium a été le récipiendaire du Prix du Lieutenant Gouverneur Général de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour l'ingénierie en 2010.

Propriétaire:
W.M. Fares Group
Architecte:
W.M. Fares Group
Ingénieur:
Malcolm Pinto Engineering
Béton Préfabriqué:
Strescon Limited
Architectes Associés:
Duffus Romans Kundzins Rounsefell Architects
Gestionnaire de Construction:
W.M. Fares Group
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.