Waterfront Park, Phase II
Queens, New York

Hunter's Point South in Queens, New York was conceived as an international model of urban ecology and a world laboratory for innovative sustainable thinking. 

The site is waterfront and city, gateway and sanctuary, blank slate and pentimento. These readings suggest an approach to the landscape that enhances what is unique about the site, while framing a new multi-layered identity as a recreational and cultural destination. New open spaces with connections to the surrounding communities provide access to the water's edge and spectacular views of the Manhattan skyline.

The construction of Phase I in 2013, a collaboration between Thomas Balsley Associates and Weiss/Manfredi with Arup as the prime consultant and infrastructure designer, incorporates active and passive recreation and a broad array of sustainable initiatives, transforming Hunter's Point South into a cultural and ecological paradigm.

The recently completed 2.2 hectare (5.5 acres) Phase II, by SWA/Balsley and Weiss/Manfredi with Arup as consulting engineers, expands the park south to Newtown Creek and completes the full vision of Hunter's Point South Park: the conversion of nearly 4.45 hectares (11 acres) of abandoned industrial landscape into a continuous waterfront park. 

Complementing the active recreation spaces of Phase I, the new Phase II offers places of retreat and connections with nature at the water's edge. Hunter’s Point Park initiated one of New York's most ambitious, complex developments in decades, which also includes 5,000 units of affordable housing, two schools, and an expanded ferry stop.

The park is also a new model for waterfront resilience, with a "soft" approach to protecting the water's edge from rising floodwaters. A continuous meandering causeway, elevated slightly above the river, offers a walk along the river's edge and protects just over half a hectare (1.5 acres) of newly established wetlands. 

The design also leverages the site's dramatic topography with a shaded grassy promontory, a new island reached by a pedestrian bridge, a kayak launch, exercise and picnic terraces, a collection of intimate "break-out" lounges off the pathways, and a dramatic cantilevered overlook that hovers above the wetland and offers panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline.

The design re-establishes the site's former marshland identity and introduces a resilient, multi-layered recreational and cultural destination, bringing the city to the park and the park to the waterfront.

Andreas Hausler is a Senior Architectural Consultant at Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism in New York.

Precast concrete in the landscape

Nearly all of the concrete elements on the project are precast concrete supplied by BPDL in Quebec. Precast concrete was chosen for the quality of finishing that can be achieved, and for the ability to accommodate the many different angles and the ‘assembly of pieces’ effect which was more complicated to achieve than may be apparent. While the manufacturing of the precast concrete components was standard, involving the concrete mixture, pouring, and moulds, the need to have the same finish on all sides of the wall segments added a layer of complexity.

Architect:
SWA/Balsley and Weiss/Manfredi
Engineer:
Arup
Precast Supplier:
Bétons Préfabriqués du Lac Inc. (BPDL)
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Phase II du parc au bord de l´eau / Hunter’s Point South

Hunter’s Point South, situé dans l’arrondissement de Queens de la ville de New York, se voulait être le modèle international de l’écologie urbaine et de l’innovation durable.

Le site est à la fois un bord de l’eau et une ville, une passerelle et un sanctuaire, une toile blanche et un repentir. Ces particularités suggèrent un concept qui saura mettre en valeur le caractère unique du lieu tout en lui donnant une nouvelle identité aux facettes multiples, tant récréatives que culturelles. De nouveaux espaces ouverts ayant des points d’attache avec les communautés environnantes donnent accès au bord de l’eau et à des vues spectaculaires de la ligne d’horizon de Manhattan.

La Phase I construite en 2013, une collaboration entre Thomas Balsley associates et Weiss/Manfredi, avec le soutien d’Arup, le consultant principal et concepteur de l’infrastructure, est un amalgame d’espaces récréatifs actifs et passifs et d’un vaste éventail d’initiatives durables qui a su transformer Hunter’s Point South en un véritable paradigme culturel et écologique.

La Phase II récemment complétée occupe quant à elle une superficie de 2.2 hectares (5.5 acres). Réalisée par SWA/Balsley et Weiss/Manfredi, avec le soutien des ingénieurs conseil d’Arup, elle étire l’étendue du parc en direction sud jusqu’à Newton Creek. Elle complète ainsi la pleine vision du parc de Hunter’s Point South : la transformation de presque 4.45 hectares (11 acres) d’espace industriel abandonné en un parc continu au bord de l’eau.

La Phase II vient compléter les espaces récréatifs actifs de la Phase I en offrant des lieux de retraite et d’attachement avec la nature situés au bord de l’eau. Le parc de Hunter’s Point représente l’un des plus ambitieux et complexes projets de développement réalisé par la ville de NewYork depuis des décennies. Il comprend également 5,000 unités de logement abordable, deux écoles et un arrêt de traversier de grande envergure. (Continue à la page 37.)

Le parc représente aussi un exemple de résilience de conception d’un ouvrage sur rive, se servant d’une approche plus « douce » pour protéger les rives des eaux de crue. Une chaussée sinueuse continue, élevée légèrement au-dessus du nouveau de la rivière, offre un sentier de marche au bord de l’eau tout en protégeant un peu plus d’un demi-hectare (1.5 acres) de terre marécageuse nouvellement établie.

Le design met aussi en valeur la topographie dramatique du site avec un promontoire ombragé tapissé de gazon, une nouvelle ile accessible par le biais d’un pont piétonnier, un point de lancement pour des kayaks, des aires destinées à l’exercice et au piquenique, une collection de points de repos intimes situés le long des sentiers, et un belvédère en porte-à-faux dramatique flottant au-dessus du marécage offrant des vues panoramiques de la ligne d’horizon de Manhattan.

Le concept rétablit l’ancienne identité marécageuse du site et vient ajouter une nouvelle destination résiliente aux multiples facettes récréatives et culturelles. Il transporte la ville vers le parc et le parc vers le bord de l’eau.

Andreas Hausler is a Senior Architectural Consultant at Weiss/Manfredi Architecture/Landscape/Urbanism in New York.

Le béton préfabriqué dans le paysage

Presque la totalité des éléments de béton que l’on retrouve dans le projet sont des pièces préfabriquées fournies par BPDL, situé au Québec. Le béton préfabriqué a été choisi car il était capable d’offrir une finition de très haut niveau et une versatilité d’assemblage de pièces aux formes complexes. Même si les pièces de béton ont été préfabriquées selon des méthodes standards (préparation des mélanges de béton, coulée, moulage, etc.), la nécessité d’avoir la même qualité de finition sur toutes les faces des segments de mur ajouta un certain niveau de complexité.

Architecte:
SWA/Balsley and Weiss/Manfredi
Ingénieur:
Arup
Béton Préfabriqué:
Bétons Préfabriqués du Lac Inc. (BPDL)
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.