Waterloo Region Consolidated Courthouse
Waterloo, Ontario

The 430,000 sq. ft., $379 million Waterloo Region Consolidated Courthouse, is part of the province’s initiative to create a more modern, effective and accessible justice system. The multi-storey Waterloo Region Courthouse consolidates the Superior Court of Justice and the Ontario Court of Justice, a first for the province of Ontario. Construction of the project began in March 2010 and was completed in the spring of 2013.

The state-of-the-art facility was designed by architects NORR Limited to meet LEED Silver standards for energy efficiency, healthy indoor environments and reduced greenhouse emissions. Located in the downtown Kitchener's Market District, the design incorporates a Grand River theme with natural forms of the gorge extending through the interior while the exterior features stone, zinc and precast concrete. 

According to the project manager, Bob Kushnir at NORR Architects, “the design conceptually relates to the natural features of the Grand River Valley. To reflect this, the courthouse has very horizontally oriented architectural components presented through the stonework and windows. There are striations of pattern in the precast panels, and window patterning. These are complemented by curvalinear floor patterns which mimic water courses.” 

The precast concrete manufacturer, RES Precast, used high-reuse elastomeric formliners from Architectural Polymers to achieve the contemporary look with superior energy efficiency. Over 600 pieces of insulated precast panels containing a random stone pattern were achieved with the use of the rubber formliners. The largest panels supplied for the project weighed over 20,000 lbs. The lower portion of the building with the random stone pattern is a brown colour and the upper portion is an off-white colour. 

Precast concrete was used primarily for the speed of construction, aesthetics, stringent safety requirements and commitments to meet LEED requirements. This new courthouse not only carries on an important piece of the city’s heritage, it also supports the thriving legal cluster that makes its home downtown.

Architect:
NORR Limited Architects, Engineers, Planners
Engineer:
NORR Limited Architects, Engineers, Planners
Contractor:
EllisDon
Precast Supplier:
RES Precast
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Palais de justice central de la région de Waterloo
Waterloo, Ontario

Avec ses 430,000 pi2, construit au coût de 379 millions de dollars, le Palais de justice central de la région de Waterloo fait partie de l'initiative de la province pour créer un système de justice plus moderne, plus efficace et plus accessible. Le Palais de justice central de la région de Waterloo accueille sur plusieurs étages la Cour supérieure de justice et la Cour de justice de l'Ontario, une première pour la province de l'Ontario. La construction du projet a commencé en mars 2010 et a été achevée au printemps 2013.

L’établissement de pointe a été conçu par les architectes NORR Limited en vue de répondre aux normes LEED Argent d'efficacité énergétique, d’environnements intérieurs sains et d’émissions à effet de serre réduites. Située dans Market District au centre-ville de Kitchener, la conception intègre le thème Grande Rivière avec les formes naturelles d’une gorge le traversant à l'intérieur tandis que l'extérieur est composé de pierre, de zinc et de béton préfabriqué.

Selon le chef de projet de NORR Architects, Bob Kushnir, « la conception réfère conceptuellement aux caractéristiques naturelles de la « Grand River Valley ». Afin de tenir compte de cela, les éléments architecturaux, tels que la maçonnerie et la fenestration du palais de justice, sont orientés horizontalement. Il y a une striation de motifs dans les panneaux préfabriqués et dans la configuration des fenêtres. Ceux-ci sont complétés par des planchers aux motifs curvilignes qui imitent les cours d'eau ".

Le producteur de béton préfabriqué, RES Precast, a utilisé des matrices de coffrage en élastomère à réutilisations élevées, d’Architectural Polymers pour obtenir le look contemporain et une efficacité énergétique supérieure. Plus de 600 unités de panneaux préfabriqués isolés, contenant un motif aléatoire de pierre, ont été produites à l’aide des matrices de coffrage de caoutchouc. Les plus grands panneaux produits pour le projet pesaient plus de 20,000 livres. La portion inférieure du bâtiment, avec le motif de pierre aléatoire, est de couleur brune, alors que la partie supérieure elle est d’un blanc cassé.

Le béton préfabriqué a été utilisé principalement pour sa vitesse de construction, son esthétique, les exigences rigoureuses et les engagements en matière de sécurité afin de répondre aux exigences LEED. Ce nouveau palais de justice perpétue non seulement une partie importante du patrimoine de la ville, il soutient également le pôle juridique prospère qui fait sa maison du centre-ville.

Architecte:
NORR Limited Architects, Engineers, Planners
Ingénieur:
NORR Limited Architects, Engineers, Planners
Contracteur:
EllisDon
Béton Préfabriqué:
RES Precast
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.