Montreal's Platopolis Condo Buildings
Montreal, Quebec

Located at the East end of the Plateau Mont-Royal, isolated from the industrial district beside the railway, PLATOPOLIS - la cité du Plateau complex, is a four phase project composed of 4 distinct condo buildings (block 'A','B', 'C' and 'D'). Each condo has 4 levels, for a total of 196 condos. The first phase covered an area of 68 888 sq ft including underground parking, each floor representing 16 000 sq ft.

Schokbeton and Saramac designed and supplied the precast concrete pieces for this Total Precast Building. The manufacturers used the following pieces for this project:

  • Architectural, Structural and Sandwich Walls: 230 pieces for a total of 32 319 sq ft
  • Hollowcore slabs: 878 slabs for a total of 75 000 sq ft
  • Balcony: 77 pieces for a total of 6 000 sq ft

The owner decided to use total precast because fabrication of precast elements during permitting and/or site preparation saves time resulting in fast efficient construction regardless of weather conditions. Only twelve months after they first started, the building was transferred to the Condo Syndicate and allowed the Constructor to recuperate his money to start building another one.

Concrete construction (sound proofing), elevators (accessibility), well-designed green spaces (clearance), interior private court and secure space for bicycles (security) and interior parking (easy-going) are among the most 'in demand' elements in the neighbourhood.

Architect:
Montreal Zone Design
Engineer:
HGS Limited, Consulting Engineers
Contractor:
Fadi Coussa
Precast Supplier:
Schokbeton & Saramac
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Les édifices de condominiums Platopolis de Montréal
Montreal, Quebec

Situé à l'extrémité est du Plateau Mont-Royal, en marge du secteur industriel contigu aux voies de chemin de fer, PLATOPOLIS - Le Complexe de la cité du Plateau - est un projet en quatre phases composé de 4 bâtiments distincts ('A','B', 'C' et 'D') de 4 étages pour un total de 196 condos. La première phase couvrait une superficie de 68 888 pieds carrés, y compris un stationnement souterrain, chaque étage offrant 16 000 pi².

Schokbeton et Saramac ont conçu et fourni les éléments en béton préfabriqué pour ces bâtiments totalement préfabriqués. Les fabricants ont utilisé les éléments suivants pour ce projet:

  • Murs architecturaux, structuraux et sandwichs: 230 éléments pour un total de 32 319 pi²
  • Dalles alvéolaires: 878 dalles pour un total de 75 000 pi²
  • Balcon: 77 unités pour un total de 6 000 pi²

Le propriétaire a décidé d'utiliser la préfabrication totale parce que la production d'éléments préfabriqués en cours de délivrance de permis et/ou de préparation du site permet de gagner du temps, ce qui entraîne une construction rapide et efficiente sans égard aux conditions météorologiques. Après seulement douze mois suivant le début des travaux, le bâtiment a été remis au Syndicat d'appartements en copropriété ce qui a permis au constructeur de récupérer son argent et de commencer à en construire un autre.

Construction en béton (insonorisation), des ascenseurs (accessibilité), des espaces verts bien conçus (dégagement), une cour privée intérieure, de l'espace sécurisé pour les vélos (sécurité) et des stationnements intérieurs (faciles d’accès) sont parmi les éléments « les plus recherchés » dans le quartier.

Architecte:
Montreal Zone Design
Ingénieur:
HGS Limited, Consulting Engineers
Contracteur:
Fadi Coussa
Béton Préfabriqué:
Schokbeton & Saramac
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.