CIBC Pan Am / Parapan Am Athletes' Village
Toronto, Ontario

The 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games will soon put Ontario on the world stage, and it's a stage the precast concrete industry is playing a crucial part in building.

Launching in July, 2015, the Games will be held within new and renovated venues throughout the province, many of which feature precast concrete components in their design. This includes the CIBC Pan Am / Parapan Am Athletes' Village, the future home to over 10,000 athletes and event personnel, and a focal point for the city's new Canary District.

Anchored at Front and Cherry Streets, Canary District will evolve into Toronto’s largest urban village with thousands of new condominiums, the 17.3-hectare Don River Park, retail, dining, sports, art and culture. Designed by an international, star-studded team of architects as an eco-friendly LEED Gold destination, Canary District will catch the eyes of the world as it transitions from a home for athletes participating in the 2015 Pan / Parapan American Games into a celebration of life and nature, family and community.

The $1.4-billion development is taking shape across 32.4 hectares of Toronto's West Don Lands east of the Distillery District, and includes the revitalization of Eastern Avenue and Cherry Street; the construction of market condominiums, rental accommodations and George Brown College student residences; and the development of a new, 7,618-square-metre YMCA.

RES Precast Inc. is one of the partners working with EllisDon on the construction of the Athletes' Village. The Innisfil-based precast manufacturer has supplied approximately 60 different components to Blocks 1 and 14 of the YMCA facility and approximately 1,000 precast concrete wall panels to Blocks 4 and 11 of the Athletes' Village residences. The latter required casting 1.27-cm thin brick “soaps” into the face and returns of the panels to give the accommodations a look in line with the trendy, historic district.

According to Malcolm Hachborn, former chief engineer at RES Precast and now head of his own precast consulting business (M.E. Hachborn Engineering Ltd.), implementing precast concrete with face-cast brick cladding brought a number of advantages to the team. For instance, traditional masonry would have required extensive heating and hoarding, which in turn would have incurred considerable cost with this winter’s colder-than-average temperatures. Considering precast concrete is cast indoors, that expense was avoided. "It's all done in the plant and it doesn't take specialty personnel to do because it's simply putting the brick 'soaps' into a formliner,” explains Hachborn. “Additionally, the erection can proceed regardless of the weather. That makes it very straight forward."

Architect:
Architect:
Architect:
Architect:
Architect:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
General Contractor:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Village des athlètes CIBC Pan Am/Parapan Am
Toronto, Ontario

Les jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de 2015 mettront bientôt l’Ontario en vedette sur la scène mondiale, une scène construite grâce au béton préfabriqué.

Prévus pour juillet 2015, ces jeux se dérouleront dans des stades neufs ou rénovés, comprenant de nombreux éléments en béton préfabriqué. C’est notamment le cas du Village CIBC Pan Am/Parapan Am, qui hébergera plus de 10 000 athlètes et organisateurs. Ce village deviendra un point focal pour le nouveau quartier Canary.

Situé entre les rues Front et Cherry, le quartier deviendra l’un des plus grands villages urbains de Toronto avec des milliers de nouveaux condos, le parc Don River de 17,3 hectares, des commerces, des restaurants et des galeries d’art. Conçu par une équipe internationale d’architectes comme une destina- tion LEED Or, Le Canary District captera l’attention du monde alors qu’il se transformera en une célébration de la vie, de la nature, de la famille et de la communauté.

Le développement de 1,4 milliard de dollars prend forme sur 32,4 hectares des terrains West Don Lands de Toronto, à l’est du quartier des distilleries. Il comprend la revitalisa- tion de l’avenue Eastern et de la rue Cherry, la construction de condominiums, des logements locatifs, des résidences d’étudiants pour le collège George Brown et un nouveau YMCA de 7618 mètres carrés.

RES Precast Inc. est l’un des partenaires qui travaillent avec EllisDon sur la construction du village des athlètes. Le fabricant d’Innisfil a fourni environ 60 composantes différentes en béton préfabriqué aux blocs 1 et 14 du YMCA et environ 1000 panneaux de mur aux blocs 4 et 11 du village des athlètes. Ce dernier a nécessité la coulée de « plaquettes » de brique de 1,27 cm dans le parement des panneaux pour donner une apparence de brique s’harmonisant avec le quartier historique et branché.

Selon Malcolm Hachborn, ancien ingénieur en chef de RES Precast et aujourd’hui à la tête de sa propre entreprise de conseil en béton préfabriqué (M.E. Hachborn Engineering Ltd.), la réalisation du parement de simili brique a apporté un certain nombre d’avantages aux constructeurs. Par exemple, la maçonnerie traditionnelle aurait nécessité du chauffage et une palissade, qui auraient coûté fort cher compte tenu des températures sous les normales qui ont caractérisé le dernier hiver. On a pu éviter cette dépense grâce au coulage en usine des éléments de béton préfabriqué. « Tout se fait à l’usine par du personnel, qui n’a qu’à insérer les “plaquettes” de brique dans le coffrage, explique M. Hachborn. Le montage peut se faire indépendamment de la météo. C’est très simple. »

Architecte:
Architecte:
Architecte:
Architecte:
Architecte:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
Entrepreneur Général:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.