North Highway Connector Animal Underpass
Red Deer, Alberta

Alberta's wildlife has a crossing to call its own thanks to a new animal underpass for the Red Deer North Highway Connector Project (NHC). And the city, in turn, can boast an impressive underground infrastructure solution that promises to stand the test of time. Completed in November 2012, the $3.96-million underground passage is part of Red Deer's NHC infrastructure initiative, which seeks to provide commuters with a multi-lane bypass route around Red Deer linking to major highways.

It was decided early on that important wildlife corridors would be traversed by the new multi-lane highway. “During the functional design phase for the North Highway Connector Project, a study was undertaken to determine the presence of wildlife corridors that may be crossed by the project,” explains Ken Haslop, major projects engineer with the City of Red Deer. “It was determined that there was sufficient wildlife in the Red Deer River Valley to warrant special accommodation as part of the project.”

Innovative approach
While not the first wildlife underpass in Alberta, the North Highway Connector Animal Underpass is certainly the most innovative. The underground structure measures 11 metres wide, seven metres tall, and stretches 60 metres in length. It employs a BEBO precast concrete arch structural system – developed in Switzerland – which utilizes soil-structure interaction to result in lightweight, durable and economical structures. Produced at Armtec's Calgary precast plant, the BEBO arches allowed engineer Stantec Consulting Ltd. and contractor Timcon Construction Ltd. to develop an underground passageway that could withstand overhead and environmental conditions, and contributed to a speedier construction. “BEBO arch structures represent a modern refinement of one of the oldest methods of supporting large loads with structural arches,” says Bill LeBlanc, business development engineer at Armtec. “The system takes advantage of design optimization using finite element software and the beneficial effects of considering soil/ structure interaction.” The benefits of the BEBO system are indeed numerous, continues LeBlanc. The arches represent a perfect example of infrastructure meant to last – falling in line with one of the basic tenets of the Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute. “The inherent durability of the BEBO product should ensure that it will have an extremely long service life with a minimum of maintenance and replacement costs, and the associated negative environmental effects that work would cause,” notes LeBlanc.

“The construction of the wildlife structure went smoothly and relatively quickly, with all precast concrete arch segments being delivered to and erected on-site in a consistent manner,” notes Haslop. “The final product looks very good and is a feature that we hope Red Deer citizens will be proud to see and use in the future.”

Owner:
City of Red Deer
Engineer:
Stantec Consulting Ltd.
Contractor:
Timcon Construction Limited
Precast Supplier:
Armtec
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Passage Inférieur Faunique du North Highway Connector
Red Deer, Alberta

La faune albertaine a maintenant son propre passage faunique : le nouveau passage inférieur du projet North Highway Connector (NHC) à Red Deer. Et cette ville peut s’enorgueillir d’avoir trouvé une solution souterraine qui résistera au passage du temps. Terminé en novembre 2012, le passage souterrain de 3,96 millions de dollars s’inscrit dans le projet d’infrastructures NHC qui compte livrer aux automobilistes une route de plusieurs voies pour contourner Red Deer et atteindre les principales autoroutes.

Dès le début du projet, on avait décidé que la nouvelle autoroute traverserait d’importants corridors fauniques. « À l’étape de la conception fonctionnelle du projet NHC, une étude a permis d’établir la présence de corridors fauniques dans le tracé de l’autoroute, explique Ken Haslop, ingénieur en projets d’envergure à la ville de Red Deer. On a pu préciser que la vallée de la rivière Red Deer est l’habitat d’une faune si importante que le projet devait s’y adapter. »

Une approche novatrice
Le passage inférieur faunique du NHC n’est pas le premier du genre en Alberta, mais c’est certainement le plus novateur. La structure souterraine fait onze mètres de largeur, sept mètres de hauteur et 60 mètres de longueur. Elle est faite d’un système structurel d’arche en béton préfabriqué BEBO, de conception suisse, qui met à profit l’interaction sol-structure pour produire des structures légères, durables et économiques. Les arches BEBO, produites dans l’usine de prefabrication d’Armtec à Calgary, ont permis au cabinet de génie Stantec Consulting Ltd. et à l’entrepreneur Timcon Construction Ltd. de créer un passage souterrain capable de résister aux conditions météorologiques et environnementales… et de le construire en deux temps, trois mouvements. « L’arche BEBO est le raffinement contemporain de l’une des plus vieilles méthodes utilisées pour soutenir de grandes charges à l’aide d’arches, explique Bill LeBlanc, ingénieur en développement des affaires chez Armtec. Ce dispositif tire profit de l’optimisation de la conception en utilisant un logiciel d’analyse par éléments finis et en tenant compte des bienfaits de l’interaction sol-structure. » En fait, selon M. LeBlanc, le système BEBO offre de nombreux avantages. Les arches sont l’exemple parfait d’une infrastructure conçue pour durer, l’un des préceptes de l’Institut canadien du béton préfabriqué et précontraint. « La durabilité inhérente au BEBO lui assure une durée de vie utile extrêmement longue, pour des travaux d’entretien et de remplacement minimes, autant sur le plan de leurs coûts que de leur empreinte écologique », souligne-t-il.

«La construction de la structure faunique s’est déroulée rapidement, sans anicroche, conclut M. Haslop. Les segments d’arche en béton préfabriqué arrivaient sur le chantier et étaient érigés avec régularité. Le produit fini a fière allure. Nous espérons que les citoyens de Red Deer en seront fiers et l’utiliseront fièrement.»

Propriétaire:
Ville de Red Deer
Ingénieur:
Stantec Consulting Ltd.
Contracteur:
Timcon Construction Limited
Béton Préfabriqué:
Armtec
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.