Whitney Museum of Art
New York, New York

Building form responds to an industrial past

Situated between the High Line, the elevated landscaped walkway on a former freight railway, and the Hudson River in Manhattan’s Meatpacking District, the new home of the Whitney Museum of American Art vastly increases exhibition and programming space for the unsurpassed collection of modern and contemporary American art.

By the Renzo Piano Building Workshop

The building engages the Whitney directly with the bustling community of artists, galleries, educators, entrepreneurs, and residents of the Meatpacking District, Chelsea, and Greenwich Village, where the Museum was founded by Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney in 1930.

Designed by Renzo Piano Building Workshop, the building includes approximately 4,650 square metres [50,000 square feet] of indoor galleries and 1,200 square metres [13,000 square feet] of outdoor exhibition space and terraces facing the High Line.

The museum takes a strong and strikingly asymmetrical form—one that responds to the industrial character of the neighbouring loft buildings and overhead railway while asserting a contemporary, sculptural presence.

Clad in pale blue-grey enamel steel panels, the bulk of eight-storey building is to the west, Hudson-side, with tiers of lighter terraces and glazed walkways stepping down to the High Line, embracing it into the project.

The structure is a steel frame with masonry block, composite poured concrete/ steel floors, and precast. The architects used precast panels to express the core where all the vertical circulation happens, stairs, elevators and ducts on the exterior and also in the interior lobby.

The Museum is entered via a dramatically cantilevered plaza, or ‘largo’, a public space that serves as a kind of decompression chamber between street and museum, a shared space, with views to the Hudson and the High Line entrance just a few steps away. Accessed from the ‘largo’, the main entrance lobby also serves as a public gallery – nearly 100 square metres [a thousand square feet] of free- entry exhibition space.

The 4,650 square metres [50,000 square feet] of gallery space is distributed over levels five, six, seven and eight, the fifth level boasting a 1,670 square metres [18,000 square feet], column-free gallery – the largest open-plan museum gallery in New York City. This gallery is reserved for temporary exhibitions and can accommodate large works of contemporary art.

The permanent collection is exhibited on two floors, levels six and seven which step back towards the west to create 1,200 square metres [13,000 square feet] of outdoor sculpture terraces. Level three houses a 170-retractable seat theatre with double-height views over the Hudson River, along with technical spaces and offices.

According to Renzo Piano, “The design emerges equally from a close study of the Whitney’s needs and from a response to this remarkable site. We wanted to draw on its vitality and at the same time enhance its rich character. The first big gesture, then, is the cantilevered entrance, which transforms the area outside the building into a large, sheltered public space. At this gathering place beneath the High Line, visitors will see through the building entrance and the large windows on the west side to the Hudson River beyond. Here, all at once, you have the water, the park, the powerful industrial structures and the exciting mix of people, brought together and focused by this new building and the experience of art.”

The busy, difficult-access site made precast a good choice for its speedy installation, a reduced crew and no on-site waste.

Bétons Préfabriqués du Lac [BPDL] in Alma, QC provided all the exterior and interior architectural precast concrete components, including, as noted above, the stairwell and elevator shaft panels. In total, this represents approximately 415 precast concrete panels covering a surface area of 3,050 square metres [32,850 square feet]. On average, the components were 11 square metres [150 square feet] in size.

The architectural panels had a special “formwork” exterior finish as specified by both the architect and the client. Contrary to common practice, the panel surfaces were not sandblasted. The intent was to create the appearance of traditionally site-poured concrete, while maintaining a high-quality finish. 
BPDL gave careful attention to preventing any damage during transport because making repairs on this type of finish is extremely difficult. Delivering a precast concrete project “right-on-time” to the island of Manhattan is a logistical challenge. A local subcontractor was hired to look after the installation of the panels, but a BPDL inspection team member was on site daily to ensure proper installation practices were being used.

This project also received LEED certification in the BD + C [Building Design and Construction] category where precast concrete has proven to offer many benefits.

The Whitney Museum enlivens a former industrial area of Manhattan by incorporating standard structural components and facade treatments into a pleasing building form which does not forget the blue collar past of the neighbourhood.

Renzo Piano Building Workshop is a world-renowned firm in Genova, Paris and New York.

Photos : Renzo Piano Building Workshop 

 

Owner:
Gardiner & Theobald, Inc.
Architect:
Renzo Piano Building Workshop et Cooper, Robertson & Partners
Engineer:
Jaros, Baum & Bolles, Ove Arup & Partners, Robert Silman Associates
Engineer:
Heintges & Associates, and Phillip Habib & Associates
Precast Supplier:
BPDL
General Contractor:
Turner Construction, LLC
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Le Musée Whitney d’art américain
New York, New York

Un bâtiment dont la forme s'inspire d'un passé industriel

Situé entre le High Line, une passerelle piétonnière surélevée aménagée sur un ancien chemin de fer commercial, et la rivière Hudson dans le quartier du Meatpacking District de Manhattan, le nouveau domicile du Musée Whitney d'art américain offre une aire d'exposition et de programmation bien plus vaste et mieux adaptée à recevoir la collection inégalée d'art moderne et contemporain américain.

Par the Renzo Piano Building Workshop

Le bâtiment permet au Whitney de s'impliquer directe- ment avec la communauté bouillonnante d'artistes, de galeries, d'enseignants, d'entrepreneurs ainsi qu'avec les résidents des quartiers du Meatpacking District, de Chelsea et du Greenwich Village, là où le Musée fut fondé par Gertrude Vanderbilt en 1930. 
Conçu par la firme Renzo Piano Building Workshop, le nouveau bâtiment comprend approximativement 4,650 mètres carrés [50,000 pieds carrés] de galeries intérieures et 1,200 mètres carrés [13,000 pieds carrés] d'aires d'exposition extérieures et de terrasses faisant face au High Line.

Le musée dévoile une forme asymétrique à la fois forte et remarquable - une forme qui s'inspire du caractère industriel des bâtiments à lofts et du chemin de fer surélevé avoisinants, tout en assurant une présence contemporaine et sculpturale.

Revêtu de panneaux d'acier émaillés de couleur bleu-grise pâle, la majorité du bâtiment de huit étages est orientée vers l'ouest, du côté de la rivière Hudson, avec différents niveaux de terrasses plus légères et des passerelles vitrées qui mènent vers le High Line, incorporant celui-ci dans le projet.

La structure est une charpente d'acier avec blocs de maçonnerie, de planchers composites acier/béton coulé, et d'éléments préfabriqués. Les architectes ont choisi les panneaux préfabriqués pour définir le cœur du bâtiment, là où a lieu toute la circulation verticale, c.-à-d. escaliers, ascenseurs, les conduits à l'extérieur et aussi dans le lobby intérieur.

L'entrée dans le musée se fait via une place en porte-à-faux dramatique, ou "largo", un espace public servant en quelque sorte de chambre de décompression entre la rue et le musée, une aire commune, avec vues sur la rivière Hudson et sur l'entrée du High Line situées seulement à quelques pas de là. Le lobby principal à l'entrée du musée sert pieds carrés] est répartie entre les niveaux cinq, six, sept et huit. Avec ses 1,670 mètres carrés [18,000 pieds carrés] libre de toute colonne, le cinquième niveau représente la plus grande galerie d'art à aire ouverte dans la ville de New York. Cette galerie est réservée aux expositions temporaires et est capable d'accommoder de grandes pièces d'art contemporain.

La collection permanente est exposée sur deux étages, soit les niveaux six et sept. Ces derniers, offrant une superficie totale 1,200 mètres carrés [13,000 pieds carrés], prennent un recul vers l'ouest pour créer des terrasses extérieures réservées aux sculp- tures. Le troisième niveau quant à lui abrite un théâtre rétractable de 170 places offrant des vues à double hauteur au-dessus de la rivière Hudson, des espaces techniques ainsi que des bureaux.

Selon Renzo Piano, "Le concept est le résultat à part égale d'une étude approfondie des besoins du Whitney et d'une adaptation de ce site remarquable. Nous voulions mettre l'emphase sur sa vitalité tout en rehaussant son caractère riche. Le premier grand geste est donc l'entrée en porte-à-faux qui transforme l'aire à l'extérieur du bâtiment en un grand espace public abrité. En cet endroit de rassemblement en-dessous du High Line, les visit- eurs pourront voir à travers l'entrée du bâtiment et les grandes vitres du côté ouest la rivière Hudson au loin. Ici, tout à la fois, vous avez l'eau, le parc, les structures industrielles imposantes et le mélange excitant de personnes, tous rassemblés et absorbés par ce nouveau bâtiment et l'expérience de l'art."

Le site, à la fois achalandé et difficile d'accès, a fait du béton préfabriqué un choix idéal puisqu'il permet une installation rapide, ne requiert qu'une équipe d'installation réduite et ne crée aucun rebut sur le site.

Bétons Préfabriqués du Lac [BPDL] d'Alma, QC, a fourni toutes les composantes architecturales extérieures et intérieures de béton préfabriqué, incluant, comme cité plus haut, les panneaux des cages d'escalier et des puits d'ascenseur. Au total, cela représente approximativement 415 panneaux de béton pré- fabriqué couvrant une superficie totale de 3,050 mètres carrés [32,850 pieds carrés]. En moyenne, chaque composante avait une superficie de 11 mètres carrés [150 pieds carrés].

Les panneaux architecturaux avaient un fini extérieur spécial de type "coffrage" tel que spécifié à la fois par l'architecte et le client. Contrairement aux pratiques courantes, les surfaces des panneaux n'ont pas été soumises au traitement de jet de sable, l'intention première étant de créer l'apparence d'un béton coulé en place mais de très haute qualité.

BPDL a prêté une attention toute particulière à prévenir les ris- ques de dommages lors du transport car les réparations en chantier sur ce type de fini sont extrêmement difficiles. Livrer un projet de béton préfabriqué "right-on-time" sur l'île de Manhattan représente tout un défi logistique. Un sous-traitant local fut engagé pour superviser l'installation des panneaux mais, dans un tel cas, un membre de l'équipe d'inspection de BPDL était également sur place quotidiennement pour s'assurer que les meilleures méthodes d'installation étaient bien utilisées.

Le projet a aussi reçu une certification LEED dans la catégorie BD + C Nouvelle Construction, là où les avantages du béton préfabriqué sont nombreux. 
Le musée Whitney vivifie une ancienne zone industrielle de Manhattan en incorporant des composantes structurales et des finis de façade conventionnels à un bâtiment de forme plaisante qui n'a pas oublié le passé "col-bleu" à Genève, Paris et New York.

Renzo Piano Building Workshop est une firme de renommée internationale basée à Genève, Paris et New York.

Photos : Renzo Piano Building Workshop

 

Propriétaire:
Gardiner & Theobald, Inc.
Architecte:
Renzo Piano Building Workshop et Cooper, Robertson & Partners
Ingénieur:
Jaros, Baum & Bolles, Ove Arup & Partners, Robert Silman Associates
Ingénieur:
Heintges & Associates, and Phillip Habib & Associates
Béton Préfabriqué:
BPDL
Entrepreneur Général:
Turner Construction, LLC
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.