Humber River Hospital
Toronto, Ontario

Precast concrete contributes to a modern composition

The Humber River Hospital has gone from a hospital constrained by the limitations of aging technology and building infrastructure to North America’s first fully digital hospital. The new Humber River Hospital, which opened in October 2015, uses the most current technologies to enhance all aspects of quality patient care delivery, improving efficiency, accuracy, reliability and safety. At 167,000 square metres [1.8 million square feet] of space, it is the largest acute care hospital in the Greater Toronto Area.

Solving Design Challenges
The building is comprised of three simple components reflecting the hospital’s essential functions: ambulatory block; diagnostic and treatment podium; and inpatient tower. The architecture of these forms takes inspiration from the architecture of Toronto, following clean rectilinear lines. As the exterior palette of materials was developed, precast concrete was envisioned from an early stage of the design to provide a solid and durable material to help accentuate the overall goals of the hospital. 

Because the building is a tangible symbol of the new Humber River Hospital, it needed to project a contemporary image. HDR’s designers composed a façade using precast concrete panels with two finishes to help accentuate the articulation of window openings and feature a strong system of reveals relating to the curtainwall fenestration pattern. This pattern also symbolically mimics the rock out-croppings lining the banks of the Humber River. The reveals within the panels echo the movement of the river moving over the river’s rocks. 

Precast concrete defines the mass of the inpatient tower and provides the curtainwall used on north and south sides of the tower a definitive termination point. Overall, the building uses 12,000 square metres [130,000 square feet] of precast concrete as a part of its 33,400 square metres [360,000 square foot] exterior envelope. The project also includes two precast concrete parkade structures providing 2,025 parking spaces for patients, visitors and staff. An important element of the design was to provide a unified palette of materials and to tie the parkade structures to the hospital.

Function follows Aesthetics
The use of precast concrete panels on the Humber River Hospital was based not only on their aesthetic capabilities, but also the ability to support the rigorous functional requirements of the design including sound transmission, thermal efficiency, durability and ease of construction.

  • Sound Transmission - The density of precast panels was considered in the sound transmission study for the building to help dampen noise from the surrounding streets and highway.
     
  • Thermal Efficiency - In creating the design for the building’s exterior envelope, the thermal mass of precast concrete was considered to minimize heating and cooling loads.
     
  • Durability - Precast concrete is resistant to rain, flood damage and windblown debris.
     
  • Ease and Speed of Construction - The use of prefabricated exterior envelope components such as unitized curtainwall and precast concrete wall panels allowed for installation via cranes and minimized the need for exterior scaffolding. Also, while the cast-in-place concrete structure was rising on site, the precast concrete panels were being cast concurrently in the factory.

 

Technical Aspects of the Design
The design of the envelope employs precast concrete panels bearing on the slab edge of the cast-in-place concrete structure. The panels provide the exterior finish component of a standard cavity wall assembly utilizing an insulated, metal stud back-up wall on the inside. The precast concrete panel wall system provides traditional rainscreen performance which allows for the removal of moisture from the cavity wall via internal flashing and a series of weeps at horizontal joints. 

The parkade structures employ long-span prestressed precast double tee beams on inverted tee girders and precast columns supporting the girders. The lateral loads are resisted by precast shear walls. Precast concrete was preferred for the construction of the parkades to provide on-site worker parking and to alleviate site congestion. PSI supplied and installed structural and architectural components for the two multi-level parking decks. Architectural finish included thin brick and sandblasted concrete. HDR’s design of the Humber River Hospital combines precast concrete, curtainwall, aluminum panels and masonry in a masterful way to achieve the goal to provide a state-of-the-art, timeless building for Toronto. 

 


Photos © Dan Schwalm \ HDR, [photo 2 courtesy RES Precast Inc.]
Architect:
HDR Architecture Associates, Inc
Engineer:
Halsall Associates
Precast Supplier:
RES Precast Inc. and PSI
Construction Manager:
PCL Constructors Canada
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

L'Hopital De Humber River
Toronto, Ontario

Le béton préfabriqué contribue à une composition moderne

L'hôpital de Humber River est passé d'un hôpital contraint par les limitations d'une technologie et d'une infrastructure de bâtiment vieillissantes au premier hôpital en Amérique du nord à être entièrement numérique. Le nouvel hôpital de Humber River, qui a ouvert ses portes en octobre 2015, est muni des technologies les plus récentes afin de rehausser tous les aspects de la qualité des services de santé offerts aux patients en ameliorant l'efficacité, la précision, la fiabilité et la sécurité. Avec une superficie de 167,000 mètres carrés [1.8 million pieds carrés], il est le plus grand hôpital dédié aux soins de courte durée dans la région métropolitaine de Toronto.

Résoudre les défis de conception

Le bâtiment comprend trois simples composantes qui englobent les fonctions essentielles de l'hôpital: le bloc des services ambulatoires, le podium dédié aux diagnostiques et traitements, et une tour pour les patients hospitalisés. L'architecture de ces formes sont inspirées de l'architecture de la ville de Toronto avec ses lignes propres et rectilignes. Lorsque la palette des matériaux pour l'enveloppe extérieure a été développée, le béton préfabriqué avait été envisagé dès les étapes initiales de conception sachant qu'il donnerait une finition solide et durable qui aiderait à accentuer l'ensemble des objectifs de l'hôpital. 

Puisque le bâtiment est un symbole tangible du nouvel hôpital de Humber River, il se devait de projeter une image contemporaine. Les concepteurs de HDR ont développé une façade composée de panneaux de béton préfabriqué à deux finitions dans le but d'accentuer l'articulation des ouvertures des fenêtres. Ces derniers comprennent également un fort système de rainures qui miroite le patron de la fenestration du mur-rideau.
Ce patron imite aussi symboliquement l'affleurement rocheux qui longe les rives de la rivière Humber. Les rainures incorporées dans les panneaux sont l'écho de l'écoulement de l'eau au-dessus des roches de la rivière. 

Le béton préfabriqué définit la masse de la tour des patients hospitalises et procure au mur-rideau que l'on retrouve sur les façades nord et sud de la tour un point de terminaison définitif. En tout, le béton préfabriqué occupe une superficie de 12,000 mètres carrés [130,000 pieds carrés ] de la superficie totale de l'enveloppe extérieure du bâtiment de 33,400 mètres carrés [350,000 pieds carrés]. Le projet inclut également deux structures de stationnement en béton préfabriqué offrant un total de 2,025 espaces de stationnement pour les patients, les visiteurs et le personnel. Un élément important du concept était d'assurer une palette de matériaux uniforme et de rattacher de façon thématique les deux structures de stationnement à l'hôpital.

.

La function suit l'esthétique
La décision d'utiliser des panneaux de béton préfabriqué pour le nouvel l'Hôpital de Humber River a été prise non seulement à cause de leurs caractéristiques esthétiques mais aussi à cause de leur capacité à rencontrer l'ensemble des exigences fonctionnelles rigoureuses du concept incluant la transmission du son, le rendement thermique, la durabilité et la facilité de construction.

  • Transmission du son - La densité des panneaux de béton préfabriqué a été considérée dans l'étude de la transmission du son afin de réduire le bruit provenant des rues et autoroute environnantes.
     
  • Rendement thermique - Lors de la conception de l'enveloppe extérieure du bâtiment la masse thermique du béton préfabriqué a été considérée pour réduire les coûts associés au chauffage et à la climatisation.
     
  • Durabilité - Le béton préfabriqué résiste à la pluie, aux dommages causés par les inondations et aux debris transportés par le vent.
     
  • Facilité et rapidité de construction - L'utilisation de composantes préfabriquées pour l'enveloppe extérieure telles qu'un mur-rideau unifié et des panneaux de mur en béton préfabriqué a permis une installation réalisée à l'aide de grues et a minimisé le besoin d'échafaudage extérieur. De plus, pendant que la structure de béton coulée en place était en train d'être érigée sur le site, les panneaux de béton préfabriqué étaient en train d'être fabriqués simultanément en usine.

 

Les aspects techniques de la conception
La conception de l'enveloppe fait appel à des panneaux de béton préfabriqué qui s'appuient sur le périmètre de la dalle de la structure en béton coulée sur place. Les panneaux procurent la finition extérieure à un mur d'appui intérieur conventionnel isolé fait de colombages métalliques. Le système de mur à panneaux de béton préfabriqué procure la performance d'un écran pare-pluie traditionnel qui permet l'évacuation de l'eau ayant pénétrée dans la cavité du mur via des solins intérieurs et une série de trous de drainage au niveau des joints horizontaux. 

Les structures des stationnements sont composées de poutres de béton préfabriqué précontraintes en double T de longue portée qui reposent sur des poutres en T inversées supportées à leur tour par des colonnes de béton préfabriqué. Les charges latérales sont reprises par des murs de cisaillement en béton préfabriqué. Le béton préfabriqué a été la solution de choix pour la construction des structures de stationnement car il a permis d'offrir aux travailleurs du stationnement sur le site même et il a contribué à réduire la congestion sur le site. PSI a fourni et installé les pièces en béton préfabriqué pour les deux structures de stationnement de l’hôpital. Le design réalisé par la firme HDR pour l'Hôpital de Humber River combine le béton préfabriqué, le système de mur-rideau, les panneaux en aluminium et la maçonnerie d'une manière magistrale dans l'objectif premier d'offrir à la ville de Toronto un bâtiment à la fois de fine pointe et intemporel. 

 

Photos © Dan Schwalm \ HDR, [photo 2 courtoisie RES Precast Inc.]
Architecte:
HDR Architecture Associates, Inc
Ingénieur:
Halsall Associates
Béton Préfabriqué:
RES Precast Inc. and PSI
Gestionnaire de Construction:
PCL Constructors Canada
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.