ALT Hotel
Halifax, Nova Scotia, / Brossard, Quebec

Groupe Germain Hospitalité's ALT Hotels are carving out their niche in Canada's hospitality sector. Catering to the needs and whims of the modern-day traveler, their arrival in select Canadian cities – including a coveted Toronto airport location – is attracting praise from both guests and industry watchers alike. Many are fans of their “cheap chic” approach to hotel services and innovative design. Lending to ALT Hotels' popularity is the use of precast concrete, which has been incorporated to help a handful of Canadian locations achieve their durable and trendsetting appearance. For the recently opened ALT Hotel next to the Halifax Stanfield international Airport for instance, Andrew LeVatte with Strescon Limited says precast concrete was selected to pull off the building's sleek, dark exterior. “Imported black granite sand along with five-per-cent charcoal pigment was used in the architectural precast concrete panels creating the rich, ultra-modern look the owners were hoping to achieve,” he notes.

Strescon provided 2,972 square metres (32,000 square feet) of architectural precast concrete for the 169-room hotel, which became the first of its kind for the ALT Hotels brand in the Maritimes and the fourth location in Canada when it opened in June 2013. Designed by LEMAYMICHAUD Architecture Design and developed under general contractor Marco Maritimes Limited, the structure is comprised of 213 pieces of precast concrete, all of which were installed in 2012.

Precast concrete also helped the ALT Hotels chain make a lasting impression in Brossard, Quebec. In 2007, the chain cut the ribbon to a new location on boulevard de Rome boasting the brand's trademark minimalist style, as envisioned once again by LEMAYMICHAUD. Dubbed the ALT Hotel Quartier Dix30, the 14-storey hospitality facility encompasses 158 rooms, ample event space, a spa, and other traveler and business amenities. Outside, it sports a slick and understated facade, making it a natural fixture in Brossard's trendy L section.

Quebec-based Armtec provided 130 panels for the hotel's construction. Says Stéphane Martel, director of engineering at Armtec, developers selected precast concrete for the material's inherent durability and flexibility. “(Precast concrete) fit well with what the architect wanted to do. It also helped the project move at a quick pace because all of the panels were precast ahead of time so they could move fairly quickly toward building and enclosing the hotel, so that crews could start early on the finishing work inside,” explains Martel.

Combining chic design, modern amenities, and eco-friendly features, ALT Hotels is becoming a favourite destination among trendy travelers and an eye-catching addition to the hospitality scene in cities across Canada. What's more, with materials from suppliers like Strescon and Armtec, the hotels also stand as highly visible monuments to the precast concrete industry.

Owner:
Architect:
Engineer:
Precast Supplier:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
General Contractor:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

ALT Hotel
Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse, / Brossard, Quebec

Les hôtels ALT du Groupe Germain se taillent un créneau dans le secteur de l’hôtellerie du Canada. Répondant aux besoins et aux caprices du voyageur moderne, leur arrivée dans certaines villes canadiennes – notamment à l’aéroport très prisé de Toronto – attire les éloges tant de la part des invités que des observateurs. Leur approche « chic à bon compte » attire bien des admirateurs. L’apparence durable et avant-gardiste de plusieurs hôtels ALT repose sur l’utilisation du béton préfabriqué qui a été incorporé aux projets. Pour celui de l’aéroport international Stanfield d’Halifax, par exemple, Andrew LeVatte de Strescon Limitée déclare que le béton préfabriqué a été choisi pour réaliser l’extérieur lisse et sombre du bâtiment. » Du sable de granit noir importé avec un pigment de charbon de bois de cinq pour cent a été utilisé dans les panneaux architecturaux pour créer le look ultramoderne souhaité par les propriétaires »,  explique-t-il.

Strescon a fourni 2 972 mètres carrés (32.000 pieds carrés) de béton préfabriqué architectural pour l’hôtel de 169 chambres, ouvert en juin dernier, qui est devenu le premier du genre pour la marque Hôtels ALT dans les Maritimes et le quatrième endroit au Canada. Conçue par LEMAYMICHAUD Architecture Design et réalisée par l’entrepreneur général Marco Maritimes Limited, la structure est composée de 213 pièces de béton préfabriqué, installées en 2012.

Le béton préfabriqué a également aidé la chaîne ALT à faire une impression durable à Brossard. En 2007, la chaîne a inauguré sur le boulevard de Rome un nouvel établissement de style minimaliste, conforme à son image de marque, tel que prévu une fois de plus par LEMAYMICHAUD. Surnommé Hôtel ALT du Quartier Dix30, l’établissement de 14 étages comprend 158 chambres, un grand espace événementiel, un spa, des services bureautiques et d’autres services aux voyageurs. Dehors, il arbore une façade lisse et sobre, en harmonie avec le quartier

La firme québécoise Armtec a fourni 130 panneaux pour la construction de l’hôtel. Stéphane Martel, directeur de l’ingénierie chez Armtec, déclare que les entrepreneurs ont choisi le béton préfabriqué pour sa durabilité et sa polyvalence. « (Le béton préfabriqué) cadre bien avec ce que l’architecte a voulu faire. Il a également accéléré le projet parce que les panneaux étaient fabriqués à l’avance afin d’être livrés rapidement et fermer l’enveloppe de l’hôtel, de sorte que l’on puisse commencer tôt à faire la finition intérieure », explique M. Martel.

Combinant un design chic, des équipements modernes et des caractéristiques écologiques, les Hôtels ALT gagnent la préférence des voyageurs branchés ajoutent un choix attractif parmi les hôtels du Canada. Qui plus est, avec des matériaux de fournisseurs tels que Strescon et Armtec, les hôtels se distinguent comme des monuments très visibles pour l’industrie du béton préfabriqué.

Propriétaire:
Architecte:
Ingénieur:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
Entrepreneur Général:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.