Saddledome
Calgary, Alberta

The Saddledome was selected in 2011 as one of the top 50 precast concrete projects of the last 50 years and was published in CPCI’s 50th Anniversary Commemorative Book as well as the 50th Anniversary Imagineering Magazine.

The Olympic Saddledome is the primary indoor arena of Calgary, Alberta with a seating capacity of 19,289. It was built in 1983 to replace the Stampede Corral as the home of the Calgary Flames and to host ice hockey and figure skating at the 1988 Winter Olympics.

The roof of the building was designed to be a reverse hyperbolic paraboloid, allowing for a pillar free view from all seats and reducing the interior volume by up to one-third when compared to traditional arenas. Constructed using precast concrete panels suspended by post-tensioned cables, the roof has an unobstructed 122 m span covering 12,000 m2, but is only 600 mm thick. The designers won several architectural and engineering awards for their work on the Saddledome, and were honored by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada at its millennium celebration of architecture in 2000.

The Saddledome was divided into 5 independent parts: two grandstands having 3 tiers each, 2 grandstands having 2 tiers each and a roof constrained at 2 ends by 4 stability A-frames anchored into rock. The entire structure uses precast prestressed concrete construction. The sphere was divided into 32 equal parts by radial columns that support the edge ring. The edge ring was precast in 16 massive sections which were joined together with cast-in-place joints and post-tensioned. A 6 m x 6 m grid network of sagging and hogging cables support 391 lightweight precast concrete 50 mm thick roof panels, which were grouted together to form a thin-shell roof.

The roof can move freely on multidirectional bearings transferring vertical loads only to the top of the exterior columns. The grandstand structures (concourses and seating inside the stadium) are all precast and consist of interior framing, bleacher support raker beams, double tee floor slabs and bleacher slabs.

Infrastructure for Life
Government authorities are realizing that precast concrete components can be used to minimize interference to the public during municipal construction projects. Traffic holdups also have an adverse impact on the environment. Many bridge, water/sewer and public building projects whether new or replacement projects using precast components have demonstrated significant reductions in construction time, reduced impacts on traffic flow and the environment, as well as long life performance. Precast structures like the Saddledome highlight the aesthetic diversity and the durability of the precast concrete. The Saddledome was recently selected as one of the top 50 precast concrete projects of the last 50 years and was published in CPCI’s 50th anniversary commemorative book as well as the 50th anniversary Imagineering magazine.

Owner:
City of Calgary
Architect:
Graham McCourt Architects
Project Description:
Olympic indoor arena
Precast Supplier:
Con-Force Structures Limited (now Armtec Limited Partnership)
General Contractor:
W.A. Stepehenson Construction (Western) Ltd
Structural Engineer:
Jan Bobrowski and Partners
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Saddledome
Calgary, Alberta

Le Saddledome a été choisi en 2011 comme l'un des 50 meilleurs projets de béton préfabriqué des 50 dernières années et a été publié dans le livre célébrant le 50ième anniversaire du CPCI ainsi que dans l’édition spéciale du 50ième anniversaire de la revue Imagineering.

Le Saddledome olympique est le principal aréna intérieur de Calgary, en Alberta. Il a une capacité d’accueil de 19 289 sièges. Il a été construit en 1983 afin de remplacer le Stampede Corral à titre de maison des Flames de Calgary de la Ligue nationale de hockey et afin d'accueillir les compétitions de hockey sur glace et de patinage artistique lors des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1988.

Le toit du bâtiment a été conçu suivant un paraboloïde hyperbolique inversé, permettant une vue libre de colonnes, quel que soit le siège, tout en réduisant le volume intérieur de près d’un tiers par rapport aux arénas traditionnels. Construit à l'aide de panneaux de béton préfabriqué suspendus par des câbles de post-tension, le toit offre une visibilité sans obstruction d’une portée de 122 mètres couvrant 12 000 m2, avec une épaisseur d’à peine 600 mm. Les concepteurs ont remporté plusieurs prix d'architecture et d'ingénierie pour leur travail sur le Saddledome, et ils ont été honorés par l'Institut Royal d'Architecture du Canada (IRAC) lors de la célébration du millénaire de l'architecture en 2000.

Le Saddledome est divisé en 5 parties indépendantes : deux tribunes à 3 niveaux chacune, 2 tribunes à 2 niveaux chacune ainsi qu’un toit contraint aux 2 extrémités par 4 charpentes de stabilité en forme de « A » ancrées dans le roc. Toute la structure a été construite en béton préfabriqué précontraint. La sphère a été divisée en 32 parties égales par des colonnes radiales qui soutiennent l’anneau de bordure ; ce même anneau a été préfabriqué en 16 sections massives réunies par des joints coulés sur place et soumis à la post-tension.

Un réseau de quadrillage de 6 m par 6 m constitué de câbles d'affaissement et de cables de soutien interconnectés vient soutenir les 391 panneaux de toiture de béton préfabriqué léger de 50 mm d’épaisseur, lesquels ont été réunis à l’aide d’un coulis de ciment pour former une toiture à coque mince. Le toit peut se déplacer librement sur des paliers multidirectionnels qui transfèrent les charges verticales uniquement sur le dessus des colonnes extérieures. La structure des tribunes (halls et sièges à l’intérieur du stade) est entièrement de béton préfabriqué et est constituée d’une charpente intérieure, de poutres limons supportant les gradins, de dalles de plancher de type doubles-T et de dalles de gradins.

Infrastructures pour la Vie
Les autorités gouvernementales se rendent compte que des éléments en béton préfabriqués peuvent être utilisés pour minimiser les interférences avec le public lors des projets de construction municipaux. La congestion au niveau de la circulation a également un impact négatif sur l'environnement. De nombreux projets tels que des ponts, des égouts et des bâtiments publics utilisant des composantes préfabriquées ont démontré des réductions significatives des temps de construction, des impacts sur la circulation et l'environnement, ainsi qu’une performance permettant une longue durée de vie. Des structures en béton préfabriqué telle que le Saddledome démontre la diversité esthétique et la durabilité du béton préfabriqué. Le Saddledome a été choisi comme l'un des 50 meilleurs projets de béton préfabriqué des 50 dernières années et a été publié dans le livre célébrant le 50ième anniversaire du CPCI ainsi que dans l’édition spéciale du 50ième anniversaire de la revue Imagineering.

Propriétaire:
City of Calgary
Architecte:
Graham McCourt Architects
Description du Projet:
Olympic indoor arena
Béton Préfabriqué:
Con-Force Structures Limited (now Armtec Limited Partnership)
Entrepreneur Général:
W.A. Stepehenson Construction (Western) Ltd
Ingénieur de Structure:
Jan Bobrowski and Partners
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.