The Luxenbourg Condos
Quebec City , Quebec

The three Luxenbourg condominiums in Quebec City are each of five storeys, and 8,400 square metres [90,000 square feet]. The challenge with this project was to have a slim-floor structure with long spans to facilitate two levels of underground parking. The developer, Logisbourg, also wished to have the building finished quickly to generate revenue earlier than a conventional construction system normally allows.

All three condos use the DeltaBeam Frame System by the Finnish-based company Peikko Group. The system consists of hollow trapezoidal-shaped beams and steel columns filled with concrete. “Peikko solved many of our design concerns,’’ explains Claude Fugère of Fugère Architectes. “Our first challenge was floor depth: we were limited in height and needed a shallow floor assembly. We worked with a 250-millimetre thick [10 inches] precast concrete hollowcore floor slab provided by producer Stubbe’s Precast and DeltaBeam assembly, with a typical bay size of 8m x 11m [26 feet x 36 feet]. The long spans allowed for four parking stalls between each column while the shallow assembly allowed for minimum building height.’’ Using DeltaBeam as edge beams around the perimeter of each floor also allowed for convenient curtainwall fastening.

A short narrow cavity at the end of each hollowcore floor slab contains two pieces of rebar which extend through to the DeltaBeam and are held in place with poured concrete to make the connection between floor slab and beam.

“Column size was another concern,’’ says Fugère. “We wanted the smallest, fire-rated columns to minimize their effect on our interiors’’. Peikko Composite Columns varied in size from 250-millimetre [10 inches] diameter on the perimeter columns to 400-millimetre [16 inches] diameter for columns inside the building, making them smaller than poured concrete columns or steel columns wrapped with drywall.

In addition to the DeltaBeam, the newest Luxenbourg III condo, also used a technology called SlenderWall®, an advanced precast concrete wall system. SlenderWall® is a proprietary precast concrete and steel stud wall system designed to reduce costs on building foundations and structure requirements, shipping and installations. This integrated building envelope system offers limitless architectural solutions including plant-insulated panels with plant-installed windows. Precast Concrete Producer, BPDL, was able to replicate the same type of architectural precast thin brick that was used for buildings I and II by using the SlenderWall® technology.

The construction of Luxenbourg condo III was completed in late spring of 2017. Logisbourg has plans to build three more buildings on the same site.

Preventing Thermal Bridging

As with any multi-family residential project, minimizing thermal bridging at the balconies posed a challenge. Logisbourg was looking for balconies that would cantilever outside of the building so that occupants would have a full 180-degree view.

The solution consists of a “T” shaped solid prestressed concrete slab for each balcony of 1.8 metres [6 feet] wide with a 0.9 metre [3 feet] cantilever. To minimize the thermal bridge, urethane foam was sprayed between the balcony slab and the floor slab, and on the underside of that part of the balcony slab within the interior living space. The corresponding top surface of the balcony slab is covered with a hydronic radiant floor heating system.

Fast Construction

‘’Our primary objective with the structure was to have a system that would go up quickly,’’ said Jean-Simon Généreux, project manager for Logisbourg. “With the Peikko Frame, we were able to build at a rate of one floor of 1,115 square metres [12,000 square feet] every three to four days. ’’

The installation sequence was as follows:

  • Day one: installation of composite columns, DeltaBeam, and precast concrete shafts for the entire floor
  • Day two: installation of 557 square metres [6,000 square feet] of precast concrete hollowcore floor slabs
  • Day three: installation of the remaining 557 square metres [6,000 square feet] of precast concrete hollowcore floor slabs and grouting of the assembly 

The fire-resistance rating for the floor system can be up to 4 hours, and 2 hours for the columns without fireproofing. The subsequent floor can be installed immediately after the grouting of the floor is done.

Using the DeltaBeam Frame System, Logisbourg succeeded in completing each structure from start to finish in about nine months for a cost of $22.37 per square foot for the DeltaBeam system, all precast concrete components, concrete topping, and erection.

 

Architect:
Fugère Architectes
Precast Supplier:
Stubbe's Precast (hollowcore) and BPDL (SlenderWall)
General Contractor:
Logisbourg & Pelco
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Les Condos Luxenbourg
la ville de Québec, Québec

Les trois condominiums Luxenbourg de la ville de Québec
ont tous cinq étages et une superficie de 8,400 mètres carrés [90,000 pieds carrés]. Le principal défi de ce projet était de pouvoir obtenir un système structural de plancher mince avec de longues portées qui permettrait d’accommoder un stationnement souterrain de deux étages. Le développeur du projet, Logisbourg, était aussi à la recherche d’un bâtiment dont la construction serait rapide, et donc capable de générer des revenus plus rapidement que les constructions conventionnelles du jour.

Tous les trois bâtiments utilisent le système structural DeltaBeam développé par le groupe Finlandais Peikko. Le système comprend des poutres trapézoïdales évidées combinées à des colonnes d’acier remplies de béton. Claude Fugère de la firme Fugère Architectes explique « Peikko a su résoudre un grand nombre des préoccupations structurales que nous avions. Notre premier défi était la profondeur du plancher car nous avions des restrictions sur la hauteur et nous avions besoin d’un système de plancher peu profond. Nous avons donc travaillé avec une dalle de béton de 250 mm [10 pouces] d’épaisseur, fabriqué par Stubbe’s Precast, combinée à des poutres DeltaBeam dont les segments typiques étaient de 8 mètres [26 pieds] x 11 mètres [36 pieds]. Les longues portées permirent d’insérer quatre espaces de stationnement entre chacune des colonnes tandis que la faible épaisseur de l’ensemble permit de réduire au maximum la hauteur du bâtiment. » L’utilisation du système DeltaBeams comme poutres de rive sur le périmètre de chaque étage facilita grandement l’attache des murs rideaux.

Une courte et étroite cavité située à l’extrémité de chacune des dalles ajourées de plancher comporte deux barres d’armature qui se prolongent jusque dans les poutres DeltaBeam. Le tout est maintenu en place avec du béton coulé au chantier, solidifiant ainsi l’assemblage entre la dalle de plancher et la poutre.

Fugère raconte aussi que « la dimension des colonnes étaient une autre de nos préoccupations ». « Nous voulions avoir les plus petites colonnes résistantes au feu pour minimiser leur impact dans nos espaces intérieurs ». La dimension des colonnes composites Peikko variaient de 250 millimètres [10 pouces] de diamètre sur le périmètre à 400 millimètres [16 pouces] de di- amètre à l’intérieur du bâtiment. Elles étaient ainsi plus petites que des colonnes de béton conventionnelles coulées en chantier ou des colonnes d’acier enveloppées de panneaux de gypse.

En plus du DeltaBeam, le plus récent condo, le Luxenbourg III a également utilisé une technologie appelée SlenderWallMD, un système avancé de murs préfabriqués en béton.SlenderWallMD, est un système exclusif de murs à ossature en acier et en béton préfabriqué conçu pour réduire les coûts des fondations, des structures, des transports et d'installation. Ce système d'enveloppe de bâtiment intégré offre des solutions architecturales illimitées, y compris des panneaux isolés en usine et des fenêtres installées à l'usine. Le producteur de béton préfabriqué, BPDL, a été en mesure de reproduire le même type de briques minces préfabriquées qui a été utilisé pour les bâtiments I et II en utilisant la technologie SlenderWallMD..

La construction des condominiums Luxenbourg III s'est achevée à la fin du printemps 2017. Logisbourg prévoit construire trois autres bâtiments sur le même site.

Prévention des ponts thermiques

Comme c’est le cas dans tous les projets résidentiels multifamiliaux, la prévention des ponts thermiques au niveau des balcons présentait un défi. Logisbourg était à la recherche de balcons extérieurs en porte-à-faux qui donneraient aux occupants une vue de 180 degrés.

La solution retenue était des dalles de béton en « T » pleines précontraintes de 1.8 mètres [6 pieds] de largeur ayant un porte- à-faux de 0.9 mètres [3 pieds]. Pour minimiser le pont thermique, de la mousse uréthane fut vaporisée entre la dalle du balcon et la dalle du plancher intérieur ainsi que sur la partie inférieure de la dalle du balcon qui se trouve à pénétrer l’espace habitable intérieur. La partie supérieure correspondante de la dalle du balcon est recouverte d’un système de chauffage radiant hydronique.

Une construction rapide

Selon Jean-Simon Généreux, gestionnaire du pro- jet pour Logisbourg, « notre premier objectif avec la structure était d’identifier un système qui pou- vait être érigé rapidement ». « Avec la charpente Peikko, nous avons été en mesure de construire un plancher de 1,115 mètres carrés [12,000 pieds carrés] tous les trois à quatre jours.

La séquence de construction était la suivante:

  • Jour un: pose des colonnes composites, des poutres DeltaBeam et des puits en béton préfabriqué pour tout un plancher
  • Jour deux: installation des dalles de plancher ajourées recouvrant une superficie totale de 557 mètres carrés [6,000 pieds carrés]
  • Jour trois: installation des dalles de plancher ajourées restantes recouvrant une superficie totale de 557 mètres carrés [6,000 pieds carrés] et coulée du béton dans les joints d’assemblage 

Le degré de résistance au feu du système de plancher peut atteindre 4 heures. Celui des colonnes est de 2 heures sans l’ajout de produits ignifuges. La pose du plancher subséquent peut débuter immédiatement après la coulée des joints d’assemblage.

Grâce au système structural DeltaBeam, Logisbourg a pu compléter chacune de ses structures du début jusqu’à son achèvement approximative- ment en neuf mois au coût de 22.37 $ par pieds carré pour le système DeltaBeam, toutes les composantes de béton préfabriqué, la coulée de la chape de béton et l'érection.

 

Architecte:
Fugère Architectes
Béton Préfabriqué:
Stubbe's Precast (dalles de béton) et BPDL (SlenderWall)
Entrepreneur Général:
Logisbourg & Pelco
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.