Sherway Gardens Parking Deck
Etobicoke, Ontario

The project was an expansion of a one level, 1,000+ space parking deck at Sherway Gardens Mall in Etobicoke, Ontario. This is a replacement deck for previous parking structure in the same location, which was demolished in 2008. Erection began in late October 2014 and was completed in May 2015.

    

The project included a connecting pedestrian bridge, which provides direct access to 2nd floor of the mall and 2 vehicular bridges/ramps (North and South) for access to the deck’s upper level.

Custom made form liner modules were created in the manufacturing plant.  Three custom wood molds were constructed and five hand-poured polymer form liners were produced.  Each of the five form liners were moved and/or rotated in the form to achieve the exterior design of the spandrels. Several spandrels had angled extensions at the ends to accommodate project geometry.  The project required custom form build-ups to allow wrapping of the face mix.

One specific challenge was that all spandrels required C1 classification at the interior of the deck, while the expensive architectural mix (including mica sand and white quartz) was not rated C1.  As such a two-part pour was done using split rails with architectural mix at the face of the form and the back-up gray structural C1 on top.  Extensive bond testing was conducted to ensure no separation between the two mixes.  Special consideration had to be taken when creating the seam at the top and bottom of the spandrel to make sure the line was straight and aesthetically pleasing.

Prestressed Systems Inc. (PSI) and International Precast Solutions (IPS) supplied 545 pieces of precast concrete products including: architectural panels, columns and spandrels; double tees, shear walls, solids, stairs, and I, T, and L beams.

The precast concrete architectural finishes of the triangles randomly change from light acid wash to warm sand blast finish. IPS used aggregate containing mica sand and white quartz aggregate for a sparkle finish.

The largest and heaviest pieces were bridge spandrel panels – 7’ x 87’ x 12-15” deep, and weighed over 100,000 lbs. each.  The south ramp had to be designed with removable architectural facia panels to reduce the shipping and handling weight of these spandrels. 

Owner:
Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited
Architect:
Dialog Ontario Inc.
Engineer:
EXP Services
Contractor:
Ellis Don Corporation
Precast Supplier:
Prestressed Systems Inc. (PSI) and International Precast Solutions (IPS)
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Le stationnement étagé Sherway Gardens
Etobicoke, Ontario

Le projet consistait en un agrandissement de plus de 1000 espaces de stationnement, sur un seul niveau, du stationnement du Sherway Gardens Mall à Etobicoke, en Ontario. Il s’agissait de remplacer le tablier de  la structure du stationnement précédent construit au même endroit, qui fut démoli en 2008. L’érection a commencé à la fin octobre 2014 et a été achevée en mai 2015.

Le projet comprenait une passerelle piétonnière, offrant un accès direct au 2e étage du centre commercial et aux 2 tabliers d’accès/rampes (nord et sud) et permettant d’accéder au niveau supérieur.

Des revêtements de fond de moules adaptés ont été créés à l'usine de fabrication. Trois moules en bois ont été construits sur mesure et cinq fonds de moules en polymère coulés à la main ont été produits. Chacun des cinq revêtements de fonds de moule ont été déplacés et/ou ont fait l’objet d’une rotation dans le moule pour obtenir le design extérieur des murs-tympans. Plusieurs panneaux avaient à leurs extrémités des prolongements angulaires afin d’accommoder la géométrie du projet. Le projet a nécessité l'utilisation de moules ayant des côtés rehaussés, afin de permettre le recouvrement des côtés par du mélange de face.

Un défi particulier était que l’intérieur des panneaux du côté du tablier requérait la classification C1 alors que le dispendieux mélange architectural (composé de sable de mica et de quartz blanc) n’obtenait pas la cote C1. À cet effet, des coulées en deux parties ont été faites en utilisant des rails de séparation avec un mélange d'architectural de face coulé dans le fond du moule et un mélange structural C1 de béton gris par-dessus. Des essais exhaustifs ont été effectués afin de s'assurer qu'il n’y avait aucune séparation entre les deux mélanges. Une attention spéciale devait être apportée lors de la création de la couture en haut et en bas d’un panneau pour vous assurer que la ligne était droite et esthétique.

Prestressed Systems Inc. (PSI) at International Precast Solutions (IPS) ont fourni 545 pièces produites en béton préfabriqué comprenant : des panneaux architecturaux, des colonnes, des panneaux; des doubles tees, des murs de refend, des poutres en L, en T, en I et des poutres pleines ainsi que des escaliers.

Les finis architecturaux des triangles en béton préfabriqué changent de manière aléatoire allant d’un lavage léger à l’acide au chaud fini du jet de sable. IPS utilisa du sable de mica et des agrégats de quartz blanc afin d’obtenir un fini éclatant.

Les éléments les plus grands et les plus lourds étaient les panneaux d'allège du tablier - 7 'x 87' x 12-15" de profondeur, et qui pesaient plus de 100.000 livres chacun. La rampe sud a dû être conçue avec des panneaux de fascia architecturaux amovibles pour réduire le poids lors de l'expédition et la  manutention de ces panneaux.

Propriétaire:
Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited
Architecte:
Dialog Ontario Inc.
Ingénieur:
EXP Services
Contracteur:
Ellis Don Corporation
Béton Préfabriqué:
Prestressed Systems Inc. (PSI) and International Precast Solutions (IPS)
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.