5 Place Laval
Montreal, Quebec

It was not the easiest of construction projects. The winter of 2013-14 was one of the coldest on record in Quebec. It was so cold, in fact, that on many days doing any work at all proved impossible. Even on days where cold wasn’t a factor, high winds shut down crane operation on several occasions.

A total of 475 panels were installed for an area of 4,550 square metres. This was managed with an average erection speed of 13 panels per day, in spite of the challenging weather.

Conditions also played a part in the installation technique of the panels, with some of the work left for the spring when the conditions were warmer. “The weather was so cold that we were not able to complete the caulking at the time of installation,” explains Armtec’s Daniel Baril, “so we had to stick an adhesive membrane to the back of the panels at the joints, and then shoot the urethane into the back of the panels. Then, we had to come back when the weather warmed up in the spring to apply the caulking.”

The use of a unique colour combination of concrete in the panels – white and dark grey and finished with a light sand blast – came with its own learning curve, at the fabrication stage. “In some of the panels,” details Baril, “we had to pour both of the colours into the same form. For example, for the white sections, we had to pour the concrete into the forms, and then when that concrete was hardened up a bit, we removed part of the form and then poured the other colour into the same panel form.”

This was not how Armtec would normally handle this task, but in this special case it was the most economic approach. “Typically, we wouldn’t do it that way, but in this case, it meant that there were fewer panels to install in situ and that resulted in a cost saving at the end of the day,” explains Baril.

Also, he adds, Armtec benefited from learning how to fabricate a two-colour panel in this manner. The technique has now been added to its skill-set going forward.

Complex erection
Adding additional complexity to the project was the fact that the building was being erected over a two-level parking garage. This resulted in challenges in both the transport and the hanging of the precast panels. A mobile crane needed to be brought in, and underground shoring retained until all the panels were installed.

“We installed some of the panels with a mobile crane,” notes Baril, “and in order to use that, we had to keep the shoring that had been done under the ground level due to the parking facility under the structure. In order for the site to hold both the trailers that were loaded up with the panels and the crane, we had to retain that underground shoring all around the building while the panels were installed before removing it once installation was completed.”

The panels also featured a distinctive, adjustable anchor connection. “First, we supplied embedded anchors,” Baril says, “then we installed the panels on the shear key with adjustable bolts to allow for adjustment of every one of the connections, which gave us an easy way to fix the panels into the correct position both vertically and horizontally. Then, once the panels were fixed into position, we welded everything into place, so at the ends of each panel were both a welded and bolted connection.”

Given the challenges, and the impressive outcome, the finished project is one that Armtec is particularly proud of. So proud, in fact, that Baril says it plans to include 5 Place Laval in an upcoming promotional brochure for the company.

Owner:
Architect:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

5 Place Laval
Montreal, Quebec

Ce n’était pas le plus facile des projets de construction. L’hiver 2013-2014 a été l’un des plus froids en date au Québec. Il faisait si froid, en fait, qu’il s’est avéré impossible de faire des travaux certains jours. Même les jours de temps doux, les vents violents ont souvent interrompu le travail des grues.

Un total de 475 panneaux ont été installés pour une superficie de 4550 mètres carrés. La cadence moyenne était de 13 panneaux par jour, en dépit de la météo difficile.

Les conditions ont également joué un rôle dans la technique d’installation des panneaux, et certaines tâches ont dû attendre le printemps. « Le temps était si froid que nous n’étions pas en mesure de terminer le calfeutrage au moment de l’installation, explique Daniel Baril d’Armtec. Nous avons dû coller une membrane adhésive au niveau des joints, puis couvrir l'arrière des panneaux d'uréthane. Le calfeutrage n’a été effectué qu’au printemps. »

La palette de couleurs unique – blanc et gris fonçé, finis avec un léger jet de sable – a nécessité un apprentissage au moment de la fabrication. « Pour certains panneaux, précise M. Baril, nous avons dû verser les deux couleurs dans le même coffrage. Par exemple, pour les parties blanches, nous avons dû couler le béton, puis quand le béton a durci un peu, nous avons enlevé une partie du coffrage et versé l’autre couleur. »

Ce n’était pas la méthode habituelle, mais dans ce cas particulier, c’était la façon la plus économique. « En général, nous ne procédons pas de cette façon, mais dans ce cas, cela signifiait qu’il y avait moins de panneaux à installer d’où une économie appréciable », explique M. Baril.

En outre, ajoute-t-il, Armtec a appris à fabriquer un panneau bicolore. Une compétence de plus pour la firme.

Montage complexe
Le bâtiment était construit sur un stationnement à deux niveaux, ce qui compliquait encore le projet. Cela a abouti à des défis à la fois dans le transport et dans la pose des panneaux préfabriqués. Il a fallu recourir à une grue mobile et à des étayages souterrains jusqu’à ce que tous les panneaux soient en place.

« Nous avons installé quelques-uns des panneaux avec une grue mobile, précise M. Baril, et pour l’utiliser, nous avons dû laisser l’étayage qui avait été fait sous le niveau du sol en raison du stationnement souterrain. Pour que le site puisse porter les remorques et la grue, nous avons dû conserver cet étayage souterrain tout autour du bâtiment jusqu’à ce que l’installation soit terminée. »

Les panneaux intègrent également un joint d’ancrage ajustable. « D’abord, nous avons fourni les ancrages encastrés, explique M. Baril, puis nous avons installé les panneaux sur la clé de cisaillement avec des boulons ajustables pour permettre le réglage de chacun des joints, ce qui nous a donné un moyen facile de fixer les panneaux dans la position correcte à la fois verticalement et horizontalement. Puis, une fois les panneaux en position, nous avons soudé tout en place, de sorte que les extrémités de chaque panneau sont à la fois soudées et boulonnées. »

Ce projet fait la fierté d’Armtec, compte tenu des défis et du résultat impressionnant. M. Baril est si fier qu’il prévoit d’inclure le 5 Place Laval dans une brochure promotionnelle pour son entreprise.

Propriétaire:
Architecte:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.