Lowe's Distribution Centre
Milton, Ontario

Armtec Brampton Precast Concrete Solutions supplied the precast wall panels for a 58,000m2 custom built Distribution Centre for Lowe’s companies of Canada. The surrounding escarpment inspired James Hettinger of jh.architecture to incorporate a sweeping wave pattern motif into the exterior panels of the warehouse.

Armtec Brampton Precast worked closely with jh.architecture, from concept to completion, as the precast panels required a higher insulating value and a unique aesthetic.  Collaboration in the early stages, utilizing building information modelling (BIM) technology, allowed the architect to create working plans that could be shared with Brampton’s engineering & drafting depts.

As a result, Armtec Precast designed a visually striking façade by customizing a rib layout modifying their standard Flexwall product. Flexwall is a complete wall system that does not require interior finishing. Although the precast panels are line manufactured they can be custom designed for each unique project. 

Armtec Brampton supplied 463 Pieces of Flexwall (11,000m2). To economize on production costs, the design team incorporated a modular wave pattern that continuously wrapped around 3 elevations of the warehouse portion. Using a repetitive pattern reduced production costs.  

Manufacturing the panels involved coordinating all individual unit drawings ensuring rib pattern wave continuity between adjoining wall panels. Flexwall was the ideal material, providing a cost effective solution for aesthetics, durability and provisions for future expansions.

The future proposed Phase II will add another 26,000m2. Once complete the facility will be 650m long on 7.7 hectares.

Owner:
Milton Industrial Centre GP Inc.
Architect:
JH Architecture
Engineer:
Peter Betka & Associates
Contractor:
Belrock D/B Inc.
Precast Supplier:
Armtec – Brampton Precast Concrete Solutions
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Le Centre de distribution de Lowe
Milton, Ontario

Armtec Brampton Precast Concrete Solutions a fourni les panneaux muraux préfabriqués pour un Centre de distribution de 58,000 m2 construit sur mesure pour les entreprises Lowe’s Canada. L'escarpement l’entourant a inspiré James Hettinger de JH Architecture qui a incorporé un motif de vague déferlante dans les panneaux extérieurs de l'entrepôt.

Armtec Brampton Precast a travaillé étroitement avec JH Architecture, de la conception au parachèvement, étant donné que les panneaux préfabriqués requéraient une valeur isolante élevée et une esthétique unique. La collaboration dès les premières étapes, en utilisant la technologie de modélisation des données du bâtiment (BIM), a permis à l'architecte de créer des plans de travail qui pouvaient être partagés avec les départements d'ingénierie et de dessin de Brampton.

En conséquence, Armtec Brampton Precast a conçu une façade personnalisée,  splendide visuellement, en modifiant la disposition des nervures de leur produit Flexwall standard. Flexwall est un système de mur complet qui ne nécessite aucune finition intérieure. Bien que les panneaux préfabriqués soient produits en ligne, ils peuvent être conçus sur mesure pour chaque projet unique. 

Armtec Brampton a ainsi fourni 463 unités Flexwall (11,000m2). Afin d’économiser sur les coûts de production, l'équipe de conception a incorporé un motif de vague modulaire, qui enveloppe de façon continue les 3 élévations de la partie entrepôt. L’utilisation d'un modèle répétitif permit de réduire les coûts de production.  

La fabrication des panneaux nécessitait de coordonner tous les dessins individuels pour assurer la continuité du motif des nervures de la vague entre les panneaux muraux adjacents.  Le Flexwall était le matériau idéal, offrant une solution rentable pour l'esthétisme, la durabilité et des possibilités pour de futurs agrandissements.

La future Phase II proposée ajoutera une autre 26,000 m2. Une fois terminé, l’établissement qui est situé sur 7,7 ha mesurera 650m de long.

Propriétaire:
Milton Industrial Centre GP Inc.
Architecte:
JH Architecture
Ingénieur:
Peter Betka & Associates
Contracteur:
Belrock D/B Inc.
Béton Préfabriqué:
Armtec – Brampton Precast Concrete Solutions
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.