Merlis Belsher Place
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Integrated design delivers robust building for campus and community
By Dallas Huard

Merlis Belsher Place is a twin-ice, multi-sport facility located on the University of Saskatchewan campus in Saskatoon. Home of the University of Saskatchewan Huskie hockey, basketball, soccer, and campus leagues, as well as the Midget AAA Contacts and Midget AAA Stars of the Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association, its two ice rinks are designed for year-round use.

The main spectator rink is a hybrid dimension of 61 metres x 27 metres (200 feet x 90 feet) which is 1.5 metres (5 feet) wider than a standard NHL rink. It has a seating capacity of 2,700 with the ability for future expansion to 3,200 spectators, and can also be used for con- certs, community events, and other spectator events. The main spectator rink features the Huskie men’s and women’s hockey team dressing rooms, team facilities as well as the Huskie men’s and women’s soccer team rooms along with space designated for Campus Recreation. The Community Rink is a 200-seat NHL sized arena that houses dedicated dressing rooms for competitive minor league teams, and 12 additional dressing rooms for minor hockey and campus recreation teams. The total building area is 2,128 square metres (22,915 square feet).

The large two-storey glazed lobby is the focal point of the building, featuring a central reception area, a pro shop, con- cession, and a double gymnasium with twin NBA-sized basketball courts and men’s and women’s team dressing rooms. The upper level includes administration, a sport science and health centre with a high-performance sports research lab, box office, concession and a large lounge with views into the main spectator rink.

 

The precast concrete components
By Mazen Elmousa

During the initial design phase of the project, the general con- tractor explored metal, cast-in-place concrete and precast concrete options for the structure of the arena seating. Based on past experience, the general contractor understood the benefits of building with precast concrete: versatile design options, off-site production advantages of components produced ahead of time in a controlled environment, and a reduced project schedule because of fast installation at the site.

The decision to use precast concrete also relied on a visit by the general contractor and project stakeholders to the new NHL Rogers Place in Edmonton where the local Lafarge precast concrete plant had supplied all of the precast components. The quality of that project, along with the analysis showing lower overall lifecycle cost of maintaining the building, decided the use of precast concrete.

Lafarge supplied 3,700 square metres (42,000 square feet) of 300 millimetre thick (12 inch) precast concrete hollowcore spanning about 12 metres (39 feet) for the main floor deck of both rinks, 1,630 linear metres (5,348 feet) of precast concrete bleachers, 188 step units and 29 raker walls. All of the precast concrete hollowcore slabs, and the two top rows of bleachers were pre-stressed to take the imposed load from the top cast- in-place slab. All precast concrete components were produced with regular mix concrete, and the bleachers were completed with a smooth finish.

Mazen Elmousa, P.Eng is Engineer, Business Development and Projects Manager at Lafarge Canada Inc. in Saskatoon.

The delivery of the project brought together the University with the general contractor (Wright Construction Western Inc.), the arena operator (Nustadia Recreation), and the design team (aodbt architecture + interior design, Architecture49, and WSP). As additional partners came on board the program evolved from the original 1,500-seat spectator arena, a 200-seat recreation arena, and a modest lobby. The evolving program required a highly collaborative and integrated process to manage the changes while maintaining the schedule and budget.

A large challenge, besides managing the additional program requirements, was engaging a large base of stakeholders and donors on multiple levels in an effort to maximize the fundraising campaign. Significant time was dedicated to identifying and understanding owner, donor, and stakeholder expectations to deliver a design that met their expectations.

The structure is a combination of conventional steel framing and precast concrete, chosen for its cost and speed of construction. Exterior finishes are masonry and metal, and the majority of interior walls are concrete block.

Dallas Huard, SAA, AAA, AIBC, MAA, RAIC is a Partner and Principal Architect with aodbt architecture + interior design in Saskatoon. 

PHOTOS aodbt Architecture + Interior Design and Lafarge Canada Inc.
Owner:
University of Saskatchewan
Architect:
Architecture49 and aodbt architecture + interior design
Engineer:
WSP
Contractor:
Wright Construction Western Inc.
Precast Supplier:
Lafarge Canada Inc.
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

La Place Merlis Belsher
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Un concept intégré donne naissance à un bâtiment robuste pour le campus et la communauté
Par Dallas Huard

La Place Merlis Belsher est un complexe sportif multidisciplinaire comprenant deux patinoires situé sur le campus de l’université de la Saskatchewan à Saskatoon. Elle est le domicile des Huskies, nom donné aux équipes de hockey, basketball, soccer et ligues du campus. C’est là aussi que siègent les Midget AAA Contacts et Midget AAA Stars de l’Association mineure de hockey de Saskatoon. Les deux patinoires ont été conçues pour être utilisées à l’année longue.

La patinoire principale, de dimension hybride 61 mètres x 27 mètres (200 pieds x 90 pieds), est 1.5 mètres (5 pieds) plus large qu’une patinoire standard de la LNH. Elle peut accueillir 2,700 spectateurs avec le potentiel d’atteindre 3,200 spectateurs dans le cadre d’une expansion future. Cette patinoire sert également à des concerts, des événements communautaires et d’autres activités avec spectateurs. On y retrouve aussi les vestiaires des équipes de hockey féminines et masculines, des installations réservées aux équipes, incluant des locaux pour les équipes Huskies de soccer féminines et masculines, ainsi que des espaces de récréation pour le campus. La patinoire communautaire de dimension équivalente à celle de la LNH peut recevoir quant à elle jusqu’à 200 spectateurs. Elle comporte des vestiaires dédiés aux équipes compétitives des ligues mineures et 12 vestiaires additionnels pour les équipes de hockey mineures et les équipes récréatives du campus. La superficie totale du bâtiment est de 2, 128 mètres carrés (22,915 pieds carrés).

Le grand lobby vitré de deux étages est le point d’attraction du bâtiment. Il comprend une aire centrale de réception, la boutique du pro, une concession, un gymnase double comportant deux terrains de basketball conformes aux dimensions de la NBA et des vestiaires d’équipe pour les hommes et les femmes. Au deuxième étage, se trouvent les bureaux administratifs, un centre de santé et de science des sports qui comprend un laboratoire de recherche sur les sports de haut niveau, une billetterie, une concession, et un grand salon avec vue sur la patinoire principale.

 

Les éléments de béton préfabriqué
Par Mazen Elmousa

Durant la phase initiale de conception du projet, l’entrepreneur général explora plusieurs options (acier, béton coulé en place et le béton préfabriqué) pour la structure des gradins dans les deux patinoires. Professionnel d’expérience, il était familier avec les nombreux bénéfices que le béton préfabriqué pouvait apporter : versatilité de conception, fabrication à l’avance et hors site des composantes dans un environnement contrôlé, et un échéancier de construction réduit grâce à sa rapidité d’installation au chantier.

La décision d’aller de l’avant avec le béton préfabriqué reposait aussi sur une visite par l’entrepreneur général et les parties prenantes du projet du nouveau Rogers Place de la LNH à Edmonton où l’ensemble des composantes de béton préfabriqué avaient été fabriquées par l’usine locale de Lafarge. La qualité que le groupe a témoignée, combinée à une étude démontrant des coûts d’entretien d’ensemble inférieurs durant la vie utile du bâtiment, permirent de confirmer le choix du béton préfabriqué.

L’usine de Lafarge a fournit 3,700 mètres carrés (42,000 pieds carrés) de dalles ajourées ayant une épaisseur de 300 millimètres (12 pouces) et une portée de 12 mètres (39 pieds), lesquelles ont servi à construire les tabliers principaux de plancher des deux patinoires. Elle fournit également 1,630 mètres (5,348 pieds) linéaires de gradins, 188 unités de marche, et 29 murs d’étaiements supportant les gradins. Toutes les dalles ajourées, ainsi que les deux premières rangées du haut des gradins sur lesquelles reposent les dalles de béton coulées en place, étaient précontraintes. Toutes les composantes de béton préfabriqué ont été produites avec des mélanges de béton conventionnels, et on a donné au béton des gradins une finition lisse.

Mazen Elmousa, P.Eng est ingénieur, et directeur du développement des affaires et de projets chez Lafarge Canada Inc. à Saskatoon.

La réalisation du projet rassembla les principaux responsables de l’Université avec l’entrepreneur général (Wright Construction Western Inc.), l’opérateur de l’aréna (Nustadia Recreation) et l’équipe de conception (Aodbt architecture & interior design, Architecture49, et WSP). L’ajout subséquent de nouveaux partenaires eut un impact sur le concept initial du projet qui à l’origine devait comprendre une patinoire principale pouvant accueillir 1,500 spectateurs, un arèna de 200 sièges et un lobby modeste. L’évolution de l’envergure du projet exigea la mise en place d’un processus de gestion intégré et hautement collaboratif capable de superviser les changements tout en respectant l’échéancier et le budget.

Outre la gestion des nouvelles exigences du projet, un défi majeur était de parvenir à maximiser la campagne de financement qui impliquait un grand nombre d’intervenants et de donateurs et ce à plusieurs niveaux. Beaucoup de temps a été consacré à identifier et à comprendre les expectatives du propriétaire, des donateurs et des parties prenantes afin d’en arriver à un concept final qui allait rencontrer l’ensemble des attentes.

La structure consiste en une charpente d’acier conventionnelle combinée à des éléments de béton préfabriqué. Le tout a été choisi pour minimiser les coûts et accélérer la construction. La finition extérieure est composée de maçonnerie et de revêtement métallique, tandis que la majorité des murs intérieurs sont faits de blocs de béton.

Dallas Huard, SAA, AAA, AIBC, MAA, RAIC est associé et architecte principal chez aodbt architecture + interior design à Saskatoon. 

PHOTOS aodbt Architecture + Interior Design and Lafarge Canada Inc.
Propriétaire:
University of Saskatchewan
Architecte:
Architecture49 and aodbt architecture + interior design
Ingénieur:
WSP
Contracteur:
Wright Construction Western Inc.
Béton Préfabriqué:
Lafarge Canada Inc.
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.