New Highway 30
Montreal, QB

Quebec precast concrete manufacturers Béton Préfabriqué du Lac (BPDL) and Schokbeton became part of a Montreal milestone when they played a critical role in the development of the province's Autoroute 30, a record-setting infrastructure project designed to ease commuting times for the city's travellers. Originally conceived in the 1960s as Route 3, the Autoroute 30 initiative was launched to link the towns of Valleyfield and Bécancour with the industrial municipalities located south of the St. Lawrence River. Throughout the decades, however, the project grew in scope, gaining the “Autoroute de l'acier” moniker. It became a highly desired bypass route, alleviating congestion on Montreal's busy highways and consolidating a number of other highways into a more effective transportation network.

Canadian milestones
NA30 CJV and its partners also succeeded in achieving a few more Canadian and international milestones. For one, the project involved the use of precast girder beams measuring 45 metres in length – the longest beams of their type ever produced in Quebec. This was also the first project in Quebec to have precast deck panels used for the bridge deck. The slabs were produced by BPDL and the girder beams by Schokbeton. The installation of all precast concrete elements was done by Schokbeton. The use of the 45-metre-long precast girder beams used to build the bridge crossing the St. Lawrence, combined with the precast deck panels used for the two main bridges, was an optimal solution to building these two structures. The beams and slabs were erected easily and quickly, allowing for the concrete topping to be poured shortly after the precast concrete bridge deck was installed. As a result, the construction of the bridges was handled much more efficiently than would have been the case had traditional methods been followed.

NA30 CJV's partners may have moved on to new endeavours, but their contributions to Montreal's Autoroute 30 will remain part of local residents’ lives for years to come. Thanks to the collaborative efforts of all those involved, Quebec is now home to one of the country's most ambitious infrastructure projects, and the precast concrete industry has laid claim to an internationally recognized success.

Engineer:
ARUP International
Precast Supplier:
Schokbeton Inc.
Precast Supplier:
Bétons Préfabriqués du Lac
General Contractor:
NA30 CJV
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Nouvelle Autoroute 30
Montréal, QB

Les fabricants québécois de béton préfabriqué Béton Préfabriqué du Lac (BPDL) et Schokbeton font maintenant partie de l’histoire montréalaise : ils ont tenu un rôle crucial dans le développement de l’autoroute provinciale 30, un projet record d’infrastructures visant à réduire la durée des trajets des automobilistes. D’abord conçue dans les années 1960 sous le nom de route 3, l’autoroute 30 a pris naissance afin de relier Valleyfield et Bécancour aux municipalités industrielles de la rive sud du Saint-Laurent. Or, au fil des décennies, ce projet a pris de l’ampleur et est s’est mérité le surnom « d’autoroute de l’acier ». La 30 est devenue une voie de contournement très prisée qui allège la congestion sur les autoroutes de Montréal et assure le lien avec d’autres autoroutes pour former un réseau routier plus efficace.

De nouvelles marques canadiennes
NA30 CJV et ses partenaires ont établi quelques marques canadiennes et internationales de plus. Premièrement, le projet a fait appel à des poutres préfabriquées de 45 mètres de long, soit les plus longues du genre produites au Québec. C’est aussi la première fois qu’on utilisait, au Québec, des panneaux de béton préfabriqué pour un tablier de pont. BPDL a fait les dalles et Schokbeton s’est chargé des poutres et de l’installation de tous les éléments en béton préfabriqué. Le recours aux poutres préfabriquées de 45 mètres pour le pont enjambant le Saint-Laurent, ainsi qu’aux panneaux préfabriqués pour le tablier des deux principaux ponts, représentait une solution idéale. Les poutres et les dalles se sont installées facilement et rapidement, ce qui a permis de couler la chape peu de temps après. Ainsi, on a pu construire ces ponts en beaucoup moins de temps que ce que permettent les méthodes traditionnelles.

Même si les partenaires de NA30 CJV sont passés à de nouveaux projets, leur contribution à l’autoroute 30 fera partie de la vie des Montréalais pendant longtemps. Grâce à la collaboration de tous, le Québec est maintenant l’hôte de l’un des plus ambitieux projets d’infrastructure au pays, et l’industrie du béton préfabriqué peut s’en enorgueillir sur la scène internationale.

Ingénieur:
ARUP International
Béton Préfabriqué:
Schokbeton Inc.
Béton Préfabriqué:
Bétons Préfabriqués du Lac
Entrepreneur Général:
NA30 CJV
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.