30 Park Place in Manhattan
New York, NY

30 Park Place, also known as Four Seasons Private Residences New York Downtown was developed by visionary Silverstein Properties and masterfully designed by Robert A.M. Stern. The 30 Park Place residences offer a new paradigm in luxurious downtown living and achieve the most welcome and gracious flow. Soaring ceilings, multiple exposures, and warm details add to the character of these beautifully designed homes.

With 82 floors and 157 luxury residences, 30 Park Place is the tallest residential tower to grace the downtown landscape of New York City, offering spectacular 360-degree views of the city – North toward the Midtown skyline, East toward the East River, South to the New York Harbor, and West to the Hudson River.

BPDL was the precast concrete supplier for this impressive project. BPDL created 1,400 shop drawings for 2018 precast panels – this means a lot of unique panels with barely any repetition.  Because of the intricacies, complexity and size of the project, the company presented over 250 presentation drawings for the project and exchanged over 10,000 emails with the Project Manager. 30 Park Place is now the highest precast concrete cladded building in the world. 

The project has a concrete design mix façade with white concrete and pigments; lightly sandblasted – sand color.  A few challenges were encountered:

  • Almost no repetition, a lot of variation of the false-joints
  • Installation rate of 6-7 panels/day. The BPDL team worked on almost every possible shift to complete the installation.
  • Transportation regulations were very challenging since all of BPDL’s loads were oversized. They had to work with shunting (2 different yards)
  • For the few precast panels on top of the building, BPDL designed and fabricated special crates in order for the pieces to be manipulated and lifted by crane individually to the top of the building. This technique proved to be a lot more efficient.
  • The precaster had to send embeds to the general contractor quickly to ensure speed of construction and to ensure one floor was completed every two days.

The 23rd and 24th floor are concrete shear walls, which means that almost all the floor perimeter is made of concrete.  The connections for the panels were done through manholes strategically positioned considering armature and interconnections.  Those two floors contained the heaviest panels of the whole project, weighing at roughly 28 868 lbs. There was almost no welding for this project as all connections were bolted. All panels have false-joints on the façade, and there is practically no repetition. 

The result of this hard word and ingenuity: a beautiful, resilient and unique structure that stands in downtown New York City and provides magnificent views of the cityscape. 

Owner:
Silverstein Properties
Architect:
Robert A.M. Stern
Engineer:
Cantor Seinuk Group|WSP
Contractor:
Tishman Construction Co.
Precast Supplier:
BPDL
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Le 30 Park Place à Manhattan
New York, NY

Le 30 Park Place, également connu sous le nom de Four Seasons Private Residences  au centre-ville de New York, a été développé par les visionnaires Silverstein Properties et magistralement conçu par M. Robert A.M. Stern. Les résidences de 30 Park Place offrent un nouveau paradigme de vie luxueuse au centre-ville et ont atteint un niveau d’accueil des plus chaleureux. De très hauts plafonds, des expositions multiples et des détails chaleureux ajoutent au caractère de ces résidences magnifiquement conçues.

Avec 82 étages et 157 résidences de luxe, le 30 Park Place est la plus haute tour résidentielle à orner le paysage du centre-ville de New York, offrant une vue spectaculaire à 360 degrés de la ville - au nord vers l'horizon du cœur de la ville, à l’est  vers l'East River, au  Sud sur le port de New York et à l'ouest de la rivière Hudson.

BPDL était le fournisseur de béton préfabriqué pour cet impressionnant projet. BPDL a créé 1400 dessins d'atelier pour les 2018 panneaux préfabriqués – ce qui signifie que beaucoup de panneaux sont uniques ce qui offrait peu de  répétition. En raison des subtilités, de la complexité et de la taille du projet, la société a proposé plus de 250 dessins de présentation pour le projet et a échangé plus de 10 000 courriels avec le gestionnaire de projet. Le 30 Park Place est maintenant le plus haut bâtiment dans le monde recouvert de béton préfabriqué.

Le mélange de béton de face du projet est composé de ciment blanc et de pigments; légèrement sablé - couleur sable. Quelques défis ont été rencontrés:

  • Presque pas de répétitions, beaucoup de variations au niveau des faux joints.
  • Un taux d'installation de 6 à 7 panneaux / jour. L’équipe BPDL ayant travaillé sur presque chaque quart de travail possible afin de terminer l'installation.
  • Les règlements de transport étaient très contraignants puisque toutes les charges de BPDL étaient surdimensionnées. Ils ont dû travailler avec shuntage (2 cours différentes ayant été utilisées).
  • Pour les quelques panneaux préfabriqués de la partie supérieure du bâtiment, BPDL a conçu et fabriqué des caisses spéciales afin que les pièces puissent être manipulées et soulevées  individuellement par une grue au sommet de l'édifice. Cette technique s’est avérée beaucoup plus efficace.
  • Les ancrages étaient requis très rapidement par le contracteur pour assurer une construction rapide (un plancher était complété tous les deux jours).

Les 23e et 24e  étages sont des murs de contreventement en béton, ce qui signifie que la quasi-totalité du périmètre du plancher est en béton. Les connexions pour les panneaux ont été réalisées grâce à des trous d'homme stratégiquement positionnés compte tenu de l'armature et des interconnexions. Ces deux étages étant composés des panneaux les plus lourds de l'ensemble du projet, pesant environ 28 868 lb. Il n'y avait presque pas de soudure pour ce projet puisque toutes les connexions ont été boulonnées. Tous les panneaux ont des faux joints en façade et il n'y a pratiquement pas de répétition.

Le résultat de ce travail acharné et de l’ingéniosité: une impressionnante, grande et unique structure qui se trouve dans le centre-ville de New York et qui offre une vue magnifique sur le paysage urbain.

Propriétaire:
Silverstein Properties
Architecte:
Robert A.M. Stern
Ingénieur:
Cantor Seinuk Group|WSP
Contracteur:
Tishman Construction Co.
Béton Préfabriqué:
BPDL
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.