407 ETR Extension – Anderson Street
Whitby, Ontario

Anchor Concrete Products Limited of Kingston, Ontario recently contributed to the Highway 407ETR extension project which involved the supply and delivery of supersized precast culverts installed off of Anderson Street in Whitby, Ontario.

Culvert infrastructure has a variety of applications including short-span bridges, underpasses, storm water and stream water conveyance. The culverts used in this project fulfill all three of these applications. The Anchor team worked with the 407 group to design a product that would meet their challenging schedule while providing a high quality, durable structure. The solution provided by the precaster was an innovative, two piece, “clamshell” culvert that incorporated a cantilever joint. This allowed the contractor to place the culvert pieces using only a crane, eliminating the normal task of pulling the pieces together.

This innovative design ensured a very tight fit between the culvert sections and allowed for fast installation and assembly of the structure. The culvert has a 2.1 metre interior height and an 8 metre interior span, its spacious interior will allow wildlife to use the culvert as an underpass; a design that is popular in Alberta and British Columbia due to their large wildlife population. These underpasses give animals a safe passageway to cross the high traffic freeway helping to protect Canadian wildlife and motorists from potentially fatal collisions.

Brennan Paving, the general contractor for the project responsible for the installation of the precast components, were impressed at how easy the installation process of these large pieces was, installing up to six pieces an hour. They could safely erect and install 35 tonnes of concrete in roughly 10 minutes.

The installation included 44 sections of precast box culvert with a combined weight of over 2,640 tonnes placed in just four days. “It was a pleasure to see that the contractor, Brennan Paving, did an exceptional job leveling and compacting the granular base, which allowed our efforts to shine through” said Jeff Bradfield, Anchor Concrete’s President and CEO.

This culvert section, which is the first of three for the 407 ETR extension project, runs 76.6 meters long and 3.5 meters high at its tallest point, making it one of the largest concrete culvert installations in Ontario.

Owner:
Engineer:
Precast Supplier:
General Contractor:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Prolongement de l’autoroute express 407 – Rue Anderson
Whitby, Ontario

Anchor Concrete Products Limited, de Kingston, en Ontario, a récemment contribué au projet de prolongement de l'autoroute 407ETR qui impliquait la fabrication et la livraison de ponceaux préfabriqués géants installés à la hauteur de la rue Anderson à Whitby, en Ontario.

Les ponceaux ont une variété d'applications d’infrastructure, notamment les ponts de courte portée, des passages souterrains, des systèmes d’évacuation d’eaux pluviales et de cours d'eau. Les ponceaux utilisés dans ce projet remplissent ces trois applications. L'équipe d’Anchor a travaillé avec le groupe de l’autoroute 407 afin de concevoir un produit qui répondrait à leur attente de courte échéance, tout en offrant une haute qualité de produit et une structure durable. La solution innovante développée par le préfabricant était un ponceau en deux pièces qui intègre un joint de porte à faux. Cela a permis à l'entrepreneur d’installer les morceaux de ponceaux en utilisant seulement une grue.

Ce design innovant assure une installation très serré entre les sections de ponceaux et a permis une installation et un assemblage rapide de la structure. Le ponceau a une hauteur intérieure de 2,1 mètres et une largeur intérieure de 8 mètres. Son espace intérieur spacieux permettra la faune d'utiliser le ponceau comme un passage souterrain, un concept qui est populaire en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique en raison de leur grande population d'animaux sauvages. Ces passages souterrains donnent aux animaux une alternative sécuritaire pour traverser l’autoroute et aideront à protéger la faune et les automobilistes des collisions potentiellement mortelles.

Brennan Paving, l'entrepreneur général pour le projet, responsable de l'installation des composantes préfabriquées, ont été impressionnés par la facilité du processus d’installation de ces gros ponceaux, installant jusqu'à six pièces à l'heure. Ils pouvaient installer en toute sécurité 35 tonnes de béton en seulement 10 minutes.

L'installation comprenait 44 sections de ponceau pesant de plus de 2640 tonnes installé en seulement quatre jours. "Ce fut un plaisir de voir que l'entrepreneur, Brennan Paving, a fait une mise à niveau du sol et un compactage de la base granulaire exceptionnel, ce qui a permis à notre produit de briller», a déclaré Jeff Bradfield, président et chef de la direction chez Anchor Concrete.

Cette section de ponceau, qui est la première de trois pour le projet d'extension de l'autoroute 407, mesurant 76,6 mètres de long et 3,5 mètres de haut à son point le plus haut, ce qui en fait une des plus grandes installations de ponceaux en béton en Ontario.

Propriétaire:
Ingénieur:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Entrepreneur Général:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.