Quinn Pumps Canada Plant Expansion
Red Deer, Alberta

The Quinn Pumps Canada Plant Expansion project involved construction of an underground concrete containment structure for a plant expansion project. The structure provided secondary containment for 3 large tanks that contained chemicals used in the chrome plating process.

The structure was located within the building footprint and required an excavation about 10 meters below the final floor elevation. The water table was near the surface and the excavation required significant dewatering. The construction needed to be completed and backfill completed prior to piling commencing for the main building expansion.

As schedule was critical, Camdon contacted Armtec in hopes that precast concrete would provide a faster solution than site cast concrete. Several options were evaluated and a system of precast concrete rectangular rings was chosen as the preferred method of constructing the watertight structure.

Camdon facilitated a "fast-track" approval process for the project. Initial face to face meetings were held with Camdon and the Owner to finalize the functional requirements. After Armtec performed more detailed Engineering, more meetings were held with Camdon and their consultants to discuss structural and waterproofing details. Agreements at these meeting allowed the fabrication of custom formwork and allowed production to commence shortly thereafter.

'Production of the seven rings was completed at Armtec's plant within 2 weeks and the precast elements were set in place and connected in one day on site.'

The project is an outstanding example of how a challenging high quality project can be "fast-tracked" if all parties are firmly committed to the process.

Precast prestressed concrete components provide innovative technologies and the ingredients needed to enhance the key objectives of durability, speed of erection, low maintenance and safety.

Owner:
Lufkin Industries / Quinn Pumps Canada
Engineer:
Cognidyn Engineering
Precast Supplier:
Geotechnical Engineering:
Parkland Geotechnical
General Contractor:
Camdon Construction
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Agrandissement de l'usine Quinn Pumps Canada
Red Deer, Alberta

Le projet d’agrandissement de l’usine Quinn Pumps Canada comprenait la construction d'une structure de confinement souterraine en béton. La structure sert de confinement secondaire pour trois grands réservoirs qui contiennent des produits chimiques utilisés dans le procédé de chromage.

La structure est située à l'intérieur de l'empreinte du bâtiment et nécessitait une excavation d'environ 10 mètres en dessous du niveau du plancher final. La nappe phréatique était très près de la surface et de l'excavation nécessitait une importante déshydratation. La construction devait être terminée et le remblai terminé avant de commencer l’empilage pour l'agrandissement du bâtiment principal.

Étant donné le délai de construction, Camdon ont contacté Armtec dans l'espoir que le béton préfabriqué offriraient une solution plus rapide que le béton coulé en place. Plusieurs options ont été évaluées et un système d'anneaux rectangulaires en béton préfabriqué a été choisie comme la meilleure méthode de construction de la structure étanche.

Camdon ont facilité un processus d'approbation rapide du projet. Les réunions initiales en personne ont eu lieu avec Camdon et le propriétaire pour finaliser les exigences fonctionnelles. Après qu’Armtec aient effectué l’ingénierie détaillée, d'autres réunions ont eu lieu avec Camdon et leurs conseillers pour discuter des détails de structure et d'étanchéité. Les accords conclus lors de ces réunions ont permis la réalisation d'un coffrage sur mesure et a permis à la production de commencer peu après.

'La production des sept anneaux a été achevée à l'usine de Armtec en 2 semaines et les éléments préfabriqués ont été installés et connectés en une seule journée sur sur le site.'

Le projet est un excellent exemple de la façon dont un projet de grande qualité peut être "accéléré" si toutes les parties impliquées sont fermement engagés dans le processus.

Les produits en béton préfabriqué fournissent les technologies innovantes et les éléments nécessaires pour mettre en évidence les objectifs clés de longévité, de vitesse d’érection, d’entretien minimal et de sécurité.

Propriétaire:
Lufkin Industries / Quinn Pumps Canada
Ingénieur:
Cognidyn Engineering
Béton Préfabriqué:
Ingérieur Géotechmique:
Parkland Geotechnical
Entrepreneur Général:
Camdon Construction
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.