Alton High School, Library and Recreation Centre
Burlington, Ontario

This unique project opened its doors in September of 2013 after 18 months of construction and 2 years of planning. The school was designed to function for the 21st century and contains many innovative design solutions. In fact, it can even be designated as a ‘PSF”, Passive Survival Facility.

What makes this project unique is that it is the first 'shared use' facility of it's kind in the City of Burlington and the Region of Halton. This facility is comprised of three partners with three distinct yet interconnected facilities under one 'roof of unity'. The Alton Recreation Centre is operated by the City of Burlington, the Alton Branch Public Library is within the Burlington Public Library system while the Frank J. Hayden Secondary School is under the jurisdiction of the Halton Board of Education system.

The library and high school employ the use of thermal storage into it’s core structure. This is comprised of Termobuild’s advanced integrated engineered design that is skillfully integrates three mechanical systems into one: radiant heating, radiant cooling, without wet systems, and energy storage to produce a sustainable low-energy facility. This is a prime example of how to do more with less. 

This new multi-purposed facility, designed by SVEDAS Architects Inc., draws on the successes and lessons learned from previous award winning projects where this system was employed. In particular, the library and high school incorporates hollow core slabs, (precast concrete slabs manufactured by Coreslab), linked with the mechanical systems producing ‘smart’ floors thereby benefiting from simple and instantly rewarding energy-saving solutions at a conventional construction cost. Architect Tony Svedas points out, “Our goals were to reduce capital costs, shorten the construction time-frame, lower operating costs and improve the building environment. We knew we had an environmentally conscious construction method to consider. 

Classrooms feature exposed hollow core precast slabs with suspended up lighting to create a comfortable ambiance in light levels. In the main body of the classrooms, there are dropped bulkheads adjacent to the corridor walls that contain the connection ductwork to the hollow cores. For added acoustic effectiveness, the rooms are finished with an acoustic drop ceiling, acoustic fabric panels surrounding the classroom along with back walls.

This system reduces costs and eliminates 40% to 50% of the mechanical ductwork normally used for the heating and ventilation systems, and it increases clear floor to ceiling heights by reducing limitations due to mechanical restrictions. A precast system tied into the heating and ventilation system skillfully produces a low-cost, energy efficient and sustainable facility with better indoor air quality. 

Architect:
Engineer:
Contractor:
Precast Supplier:
Structural Engineer:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

École Secondaire, Bibliothèque et Centre Communautaire Alton
Burlington, Ontario

Ce projet unique a ouvert ses portes en Septembre 2013 après 18 mois de construction et 2 années de planification. L'école a été conçu pour fonctionner pour le 21e siècle et contient de nombreuses solutions de conception innovantes. En fait, il peut même être désigné comme un «IPS», Installation Passif de Survie.

Ce qui rend ce projet unique, c'est qu'il est le premier établissement «d’utilisation commune» de son genre dans la ville de Burlington et la région de Halton. Cette installation se compose de trois partenaires comprenant trois installations distinctes mais interconnectées sous un toît. Le centre communautaire Alton est exploité par la ville de Burlington, la bibliothèque est gèré par le le conseil de bibliothèque publique de Burlington tandis que l’école secondaire Frank J. Hayden est sous la juridiction du Conseil scolaire de la region de Halton.

La bibliothèque et l'école secondaire emploient l'utilisation du stockage thermique dans sa structure. Ce bâtiment utilise l'ingénierie de fine pointe du système Termobuild qui intègre trois systèmes mécaniques en un seul: chauffage par rayonnement, refroidissement par rayonnement, sans systèmes humides, et de stockage d'énergie pour produire une installation durable à faible énergie. Il s'agit d'un excellent exemple de faire plus avec moins. 

Cette nouvelle installation à usages multiples conçu par SVEDAS Architects Inc., s'appuie sur les succès et les leçons tirées des projets primés précédents où ce système a été employé. En particulier, la bibliothèque et l'école secondaire intègre la dalles évidée de base, (dalles de béton préfabriqué produite par Coreslab Structures Inc.), en lien avec les systèmes mécaniques produisant des planchés «intelligents» bénéficiant ainsi des solutions d'économie d'énergie rapides. L’architecte Tony Svedas souligne: «Nos objectifs étaient de réduire les coûts d'investissement, de raccourcir les délais de construction, les coûts d'exploitation et améliorer l'environnement du bâtiment. Nous savions que nous avions à considérer une méthode de construction respectueuse de l'environnement. 

Les salles de classe disposent de dalles évidées en béton préfabriqué exposées avec de l'éclairage suspendu pour créer une ambiance confortable dans les niveaux de lumière. Pour une efficacité acoustique ajoutée, les chambres sont finis avec un faux plafond acoustique et des panneaux de tissu acoustique autour de la salle de classe.

Ce système réduit les coûts et réduit les besoins du système mécanique de 40% à 50% et augmente la hauteur des plafonds en réduisant limitations dues à des restrictions mécaniques. Un système de béton préfabriqué lié au système de chauffage et de ventilation produit habilement un faible coût, une installation efficace, une économie importante de l'énergie et une meilleure qualité de l'air intérieur. 

Architecte:
Ingénieur:
Contracteur:
Béton Préfabriqué:
Ingénieur de Structure:
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.