Sylvan Precast Systems Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters Advanced Concrete Technologies Sika Canada McInnis  Cement Lafarge Cement Strunobet US Formliner
Port of Sydney Cruise Ship Terminal
Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

NEXT Beams Speed Installation and Lower Costs

By Richard Morykot, P. Eng. 


Combine its internationally known historic sites, such as the Louisbourg Fortress, Alexander Graham Bell Museum, and the Cape Breton Miners Museum, with the rugged beauty of the Highlands and a plethora of other highlights around the island, it’s little wonder that Cape Breton has seen a steady rise in tourism and a steady increase in cruise ships year after year.

In 2016 a total of 54 cruise ships and 120,000 passengers and crew visited the port. This year more than 110 cruise ships, with more than 200,000 passengers and crew will visit the Port of Sydney. This growth has driven a need for an additional berth at the Sydney Marine Terminal to accommodate not only the increasing number of ships, but also the large size of these vessels.

With only one berth that can accommodate vessels up to approximately 315 metres LOA (Length Over All), The Cape Breton Regional Municipality, in collaboration with the Port of Sydney Development Corporation, commissioned a study on the viability of building a second Sydney cruise ship terminal. 
In September of 2018, after more than a decade of planning, construction of the second cruise berth began with the award of an $18 million contract to Zutphen Contractors of Mabou, Cape Breton. The new terminal just north of the existing terminal will accommodate Oasis of the Seas-class cruise ships, which are 362 metres (1,187 feet) LOA and have a beam of 60.5 metres (198 feet).

After much study of the site conditions, a steel pile foundation was chosen to support seven breasting dolphins, five intermediate bents, and one landside abutment. A breasting dolphin is an isolated marine structure which assists in the berthing of vessels by taking up some berthing loads.

Precast North East Extreme Tee (NEXT) beam girders were selected to bridge the 18.1 to 21.5 metre (59 to 70 feet) spans, support the deck and transfer loads. In total, the project includes 33 NEXT beams, each with a width of 2,500 millimetres (8.2 feet) and a nominal depth of 600 millimetres (2 feet). 
A conventional construction approach for wharves typically uses cast-in-place concrete for he beams and deck. The use of the precast concrete NEXT beams in this project allowed for the beams and bottom portion of the deck to be placed in one sequence. This completely eliminated the need for formwork and temporary support piles.

The use of precast concrete also allowed the units to be cast in the winter in an indoor environment under ideal conditions. Equally as important, significant portions of the structure could be constructed in parallel, thus reducing the project schedule. Casting the deck spans on site would have extended the schedule and resulted in a significant amount of concrete work in harsh winter conditions.

One particular challenge was the loads induced on the structure by waves and ice. Typical gravity loads on bridge-type structures create positive moments at mid-span and negative moments over supports. Wave and ice loads create upward forces and a design solution was needed to resist these loads in nonconventional ways.

Engineers at CBCL worked closely with the precast concrete supplier Strescon Limited of Bedford, NS to determine limitations of strand lengths protruding from the end of the girders. In order to develop the ice-induced positive moment into the supports, a strand anchorage system of steel plates, dead-end strand chucks and nelson studs were embedded into the supporting concrete.

The project is now well advanced with 77 of 83 piles installed. The project concrete components are substantially complete with the abutment and all intermediate supports installed. As well, six of the seven breasting dolphins are constructed, 24 of the 33 NEXT beams are in place and approximately half of the concrete deck has been placed. Project completion is expected at the end of 2019, ready for the 2020 cruise ship season.

The dedication and ingenuity of the engineers and designers involved was a key factor in developing a design that allowed the use of precast concrete NEXT beams in a unique application.

CBCL would like to acknowledge the contributions of Xi Chen, EIT, Colin Jim, P.Eng, Kori MacPherson, P.Eng, Arron Kennedy, P.Eng, and Greg Peters, P.Eng. Their efforts were key in the design and the ultimate success of the project.

Richard Morykot, P.Eng., is manager of CBCL Limited in Sydney, NS.

 

 

THE NEXT BEAM

For years the typical design of a short to medium span bridge involved the use of adjacent precast concrete box beams. At 1.2 metres (4 feet) wide, it would take eight box girders to make a typical 10-metre (33 feet) wide bridge. The hollowcore of the box beam makes it difficult to manufacture. Installation was also difficult due to alignment of the transverse post-tensioning ducting plus grouting procedures involving the shear key.

In 2006, the technical committee of the Northeast Chapter (New England states and New York State) of the US-based Precast Concrete Institute (PCI), saw a need to revisit the design of short to medium span bridges. Through consultation with the technical committee members, the North East Extreme Tee (NEXT) beam shape was born. Easier to manufacture and install, the shape is a beefier Double Tee, 3.6 metres (12 feet) wide by 0.9 metres (3 feet) deep with stems just over 330 to 381millmetres (1.08 to 1.25 feet) wide that can handle spans from 13.7 metres to 27.4 metres (45 to 90 feet).

Photos courtesy of CBCL Limited
Owner:
Cape Breton Regional Municipality, in collaboration with the Port of Sydney Development Corporation
Engineer:
CBCL Limited
Contractor:
Zutphen Contractors
Precast Supplier:
Strescon Limited
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Sylvan Precast Systems Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters Advanced Concrete Technologies MAPEI Group McInnis  Cement Sika Canada Lafarge Cement Strunobet US Formliner
Le terminal de croisière du port de Sydney
Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

Les poutres de type « NEXT » permettent d’accélérer les travaux tout en réduisant les coûts

Par Richard Morykot, P. Eng. 


Lorsqu’on combine ses sites historiques connus internationalement tels que la Forteresse de Louisbourg, le musée d’Alexandre Graham Bell et le musée des mineurs du Cap-Breton à la beauté accidentée des Hautes-Terres et à la myriade d’autres attractions que l’on retrouve sur l’île, il n’est pas surprenant que Cap-Breton ait connu au fil des récentes années une croissance constante de l’achalandage touristique et du trafic de bateaux de croisière.

En 2016, un total de 54 navires de croisière représentant 120 000 passagers et membres d’équipage visitèrent le port de Sydney. Cette année, ces chiffres passeront à 110 bateaux de croisière transportant plus de 200 000 passagers et membres d’équipage. Cette augmentation a rendu nécessaire l’ajout d’un nouveau point d’amarrage dans le Terminal Marin de Sidney capable non seulement d’accueillir le nombre grandissant de navires mais aussi de s’adapter à leur taille devenant d’année en année plus imposante.

Ayant présentement seulement un point d’amarrage capable de recevoir des vaisseaux de plus de 315 mètres de LHT (longueur hors tout), la municipalité régionale du Cap-Breton, en collaboration avec la Corporation de développement du Port de Sydney, a commandé une étude de faisabilité portant sur la construction d’un deuxième terminal de croisière dans le port de Sydney;

En septembre 2018, après plus d’une décennie consacrée à la planification, le feu vert d’aller de l’avant avec la construction d’un deuxième terminal a été donné, accordant le contrat de 18 millions $ à l’entreprise Zutphen Contractors de Mabou, Cap-Breton. Le nouveau terminal, situé juste au nord du terminal existant, sera en mesure d’accueillir des navires de croisière appartenant à la classe Oasis of the Seas ayant une LHT de 362 mètres (1 187 pieds) et une largeur de 60.5 mètres (198 pieds)..

Après de nombreuses études réalisées sur le site, une fondation sur pieux d’acier a été retenue. Cette dernière supportera sept ducs-d’Albe, cinq travées intermédiaires, et une culée de rive. Le duc-d’Albe est une structure marine isolée aidant à l’amarrage des navires tout en étant capable de reprendre une partie des charges de poussées associées à l’amarrage.

Des poutres en T de béton préfabriqué de 18,1 à 21,5 mètres (59 à 70 pieds) de portée de type NEXT (North East Extreme Tee) ont été sélectionnées pour supporter le quai et transférer les charges. Au total, le projet comprend 33 de ces poutres ayant chacune une largeur de 2,5 mètres (8,2 pieds) et une profondeur nominale de 600 millimètres (2 pieds).

Habituellement, les quais de ce type sont construits à partir de poutres et de plateformes de béton coulé sur place au chantier. L’utilisation de poutres de béton préfabriqué de type NEXT dans ce projet permit l’installation des poutres et de la partie inférieure des tabliers en une seule et même séquence, éliminant par le fait même tout besoin de coffrages ou de pieux de support temporaires.

Un avantage certain du béton préfabriqué est que les composantes ont pu être fabriquées même pendant les mois d’hiver dans un environnement intérieur idéalement contrôlé. Un autre avantage, celui-ci tout aussi notable, est que d’importantes sections de la structure ont pu être construites en parallèle, permettant ainsi de réduire de beaucoup l’échéancier du projet. Si l’approche conventionnelle avait été employée, l’échéancier de construction aurait été plus long et il aurait fallu entreprendre d’importantes opérations de bétonnage dans des conditions hivernales très rigoureuses.

Un défi particulier dans ce type de structure est le patron de charges induit par les vagues et la glace. De façon typique, les charges gravitaires agissant sur une structure produisent des moments positifs à mi-portée et des moments négatifs aux points d’appui. Les vagues et la glace occasionnent quant à elles des forces de soulèvement. Il a donc fallu concevoir une solution capable de résister à ces charges selon des méthodes non conventionnelles.

Les ingénieurs de CBCL travaillèrent de concert avec le fournisseur du béton préfabriqué Strescon Limited de Bedford en Nouvelle-Écosse pour établir la longueur de prolongement des torons d’acier delà des extrémités des poutres. Afin de pouvoir développer les moments positifs induits par la glace aux points d’appui, un système d’ancrage des torons d’acier composé de plaques d’acier, de mandrins de serrage d’extrémité et de goujons de type Nelson a été intégré dans les supports de béton.

Le projet est maintenant bien entamé. 77 des 83 pieux ont déjà été posés. La grande majorité des composantes de béton préfabriqué a été fabriquée et la culée, ainsi que tous les points d’appui intermédiaires, sont en place. De plus, six des sept ducs-d’Albe ont été construits, 24 des 33 poutres de type NEXT ont été installées et plus de la moitié du tablier de béton a été complétée. La fin des travaux de construction est prévue pour la fin de 2019 et le nouveau terminal sera prêt à recevoir les navires pour la saison de croisière de 2020.

Le dévouement et l’ingéniosité des ingénieurs et des concepteurs impliqués dans le projet ont été les éléments clé qui permirent l’utilisation des poutres de béton préfabriqué de type NEXT dans une application tout à fait unique.

CBCL désire tout particulièrement reconnaître les contributions de Xi Chen, EIT, Colin Jim P.Eng., Kori MacPherson, P.Eng., Arron Kennedy, P.Eng., et de Greg Peters, P.Eng. Leurs efforts ont joué un rôle primordial dans la conception qui a mené au succès ultime du projet.

Richard Morykot, P.Eng, est directeur chez CBCL Limited à Sydney, Nouvelle-Écosse.

 

 

LA POUTRE DE TYPE NEXT

Pendant de nombreuses années, le design typique d’une poutre de courte à moyenne portée comportait l’utilisation de poutres-caisson de béton préfabriqué disposées en parallèle l’une contre l’autre. Avec une largeur de 1,2 mètres (4 pieds) chacune, il aurait fallu placer 8 poutres- caisson côte-à-côte pour obtenir un pont typique de 10 mètres (33 pieds) d’empattement. De par leur forme, les poutres-caisson sont difficiles à fabriquer. L’installation de ces poutres-caisson est aussi difficile à réaliser en raison de l’alignement quelque peu exigeant des conduites transversales de post-tension, tout comme les procédures de pose du coulis à l’endroit des clés de cisaillement.

En 2006, le comité technique du Chapitre nord-est (Nouvelle-Angleterre et l’État de New York) du l’institut du béton préfabriqué Américain (PCI) a ressenti le besoin de revoir les méthodes de conception des ponts de courte et de moyenne portées. C’est ainsi, qu’avec l’expertise des membres du comité technique, que la forme de la poutre en T de type NEXT (North East Extreme Tee) est née. Plus facile à fabriquer et à poser, la forme est une section plus costaude en double T de 3,6 mètres de largeur (12 pieds) par 0,9 mètres (3 pieds) de profondeur et dont les âmes (ou pieds) varient entre 330 et 381 millimètres (1,08 à 1,25 pieds) de largeur. Ce type de poutre peut supporter des portées de 13.7 mètres à 27,4 mètres (45 à 90 pieds)..

Photos gracieuseté de CBCL Limited
Propriétaire:
Municipalité régionale du Cap-Breton, en collaboration avec la Corporation de développement du Port de Sydney
Ingénieur:
CBCL Limited
Contracteur:
Zutphen Contractors
Béton Préfabriqué:
Strescon Limited
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.