Hodder Avenue Underpass
Thunder Bay, Ontario

The Hodder Avenue underpass in Thunder Bay, Ontario is proof that the extensive use of ultra-high-performance concrete (UHPC) in a modular project delivers versatility, durability and design excellence. At the forefront of the growth in UHPC use are its very specific properties, the foremost being ductility, one of the factors that sets it apart from conventional concrete, and even traditional high performance concrete. Its unique set of characteristics frees designers from the constraints of traditional solutions. Engineering expertise and partnerships with architects, designers, design offices and precasters have enabled the development of a great many uses. Today we can demonstrate Ultra High Performance Concrete's unequalled performance and longevity.
 
This Hodder Avenue Underpass is the first structure in North America to incorporate precast UHPC pier cap and pier column shells along with high-performance precast concrete box girders, parapet walls and approach slabs. Field connections, joints and closure strips were field cast using UHPC, resulting in smaller, simpler joints with superior durability. The bridge spans six highway lanes and is founded on a combination of hard till and bedrock. Because the structure would be exposed to the harsh northern Ontario climate, it was necessary to choose a construction material that could stand up to the extreme weather conditions, says Biljana Rajlic, vice-president and engineer for Hatch Mott MacDonald in Mississauga, Ontario. The precast concrete design gave the project durability and so much more, says Rajlic. “The use of precast concrete, along with UHPC joints, provided multiple benefits,” she notes. The precast prestressed concrete solution increased structural capacity and the design requirements while the UHPC allowed for smaller joints and improved durability, strength, and continuity. “Even after years of exposure to harsh climate and abuse from salt spray, it will still look great for decades to come,” adds Rajlic.

The project demonstrates that the use of precast ultra-high-performance and high-performance concrete bridge elements combined with field-cast UHPC connections gives designers an opportunity to advance bridge performance, shorten construction time, and extend the durability of these spans. The result, Rajlic says, “is a resilient, attractive structure that is built to last and an excellent model for similar precast bridge projects worldwide.”

“As the owner of the bridge, we are extremely proud of the finished structure,” says Ray Krisciunas of the Ministry of Transportation. “The use of UHPC enabled us to achieve our intended objective of an open, esthetically pleasing and welcoming bridge, which was also economical and durable. It will now form the baseline design for a number of other planned overpasses on this section of the Trans-Canada Highway.”

PCI Design Awards Winner in 2013 for
"Bridges with Main Span from 76-149 ft" and the
"Harry H. Edwards Industry Advancement Award."

Owner:
Ministry of Transportation of Ontario, Northwestern Region, Thunder Bay
Engineer:
Hatch Mott MacDonald, Mississauga
Precast Supplier:
Lafarge Canada Inc., Winnipeg
General Contractor:
Teranorth Construction & Engineering Ltd., Sudbury
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.

Passage inférieur de l’avenue Hodder
Thunder Bay, Ontario

LE PASSAGE INFÉRIEUR de l’avenue Hodder, à Thunder Bay, Ontario, démontre qu’un usage généralisé du béton ultra-hautes performances (BUHP) dans un projet modulaire, permet de combiner une grande liberté de conception, une excellente durabilité et des lignes élégantes. La principale raison du succès croissant du BUHP réside dans ses propriétés très spécifiques, notamment la ductilité, un facteur qui le distingue clairement du béton conventionnel et même du béton à hautes performances. Cet ensemble de caractéristiques libère le concepteur des contraintes des solutions traditionnelles. Une étroite collaboration entre ingénieurs et architectes, concepteurs, bureau d’étude et préfabricateurs a permis la réalisation de nombreux projets d’infrastructures, d'édifices industriels et même de mobilier urbain et d’applications décoratives. Plus d'une décénnie d'utilisation de ce matériau a permit aux équipes d'acquérir une expérience considérable des applications possible.
 
Le passage inférieur de l’avenue Hodder est la première structure en Amérique du Nord à utiliser des chevêtres et des piles creuses préfabriqués en BUHP, ainsi que des poutres-caissons, des parapets et des dalles d’approche en BUHP. Les raccords, les joints et les bandes d’étanchéité ont été coulés sur place en BUHP, ce qui permet de réduire leurs dimensions, de simplifier leur conception et d’assurer une excellente durabilité. Ce pont enjambe une autoroute à six voies et repose sur du till compact combiné à un soubassement rocheux. Comme la structure devait être exposée au climat difficile du Nord de l’Ontario, il a fallu choisir un matériau de construction capable de supporter des conditions climatiques extrêmes, explique Biljana Rajlic, vice-présidente et ingénieure chez Hatch Mott MacDonald, de Mississauga, Ontario. « Le béton préfabriqué assure la durabilité du projet et offre bien d’autres avantages, poursuit-elle, particulièrement avec des joints en BUHP. Le béton préfabriqué précontraint optimise la résistance structurale et réduit les contraintes de conception, alors que le BUHP permet de réaliser des joints plus petits en améliorant la durabilité, la résistance et la continuité. Même après des années d’exposition à un climat difficile, le béton conservera son aspect attrayant pendant des décennies, » ajoute-t-elle.

Ce projet démontre que l’utilisation d’éléments préfabriqués en béton à hautes performances et à ultra haute performance, avec des raccords en BUHP coulés en place, permet de concevoir des ponts à hautes performances, de raccourcir les délais de construction et d’améliorer la durabilité des travées. Selon Biljana Rajlic, le résultat est une structure robuste et attrayante, faite pour durer et qui servira de modèle pour la réalisation de projets similaires dans le monde ».

« En tant que propriétaire du pont, nous sommes extrêmement satisfaites de l’esthétique de la structure, conclut Ray Krisciunas du ministère des Transports. Le choix du BUHP nous a permis d’atteindre nos objectifs d’une structure ouverte, élégante et accueillante, qui n’en est pas moins économique et durable. Cet ouvrage servira de modèle pour la réalisation de plusieurs autres passages supérieurs sur ce tronçon de l’autoroute transcanadienne. »

Gagnant du prix de conception du PCI en 2013, pour
« Ponts avec portée de 76-149 pi » et
«Prix Harry H. Edwards pour l'avancement de l'industrie. »

Propriétaire:
Ministère des Transports de l’Ontario, région Nord-Ouest, Thunder Bay
Ingénieur:
Hatch Mott MacDonald, Mississauga
Béton Préfabriqué:
Lafarge Canada Inc., Winnipeg
Entrepreneur Général:
Teranorth Construction & Engineering Ltd., Sudbury
© CPCI 2013. All rights reserved.